Ways to Overcome our Past

1 15
Avatar for mikaella27
3 years ago

There is always a away to overcome our past

My parents, were both drunk then having a fight after being home. I was sleeping on the couch, or so the tought.

My father were extremely drunk, he pushed my mother with enoguh force to break her head. She ended up in the hospital.

I remember another time they were having a fight again, calling my sisters and brothers and also I from our beds in the middle of the night. They were drunk again as they announced they were getting divorced. We were asked to choose which parent we wanted to stay with, and my heart felt this so bad.

These are just one among many memories I have of my family. Some of unknown memories just remain untold.

As a child, stress and sadness moves into my life like an dirty air. Thought of suicide sometimes lingered within that dirty air. The experiences of my closest relationships to unknown relatives defined my life in ways I wasn't sure I could overcome.

By experiencing forgiveness and love myself, could I discover how to love and forgive the people who hurt me the most.

One of my sister who shared my painfull memories, helped me a lot to understand that God loved me even when I chose to reject him. She told me that Jesis died for us to demonstrate God's love for me, and then came back from the dead to offer me love and forgiveness.

As I experienced God's love and forgiveness day by day, I developed a greater capacity to forgive and love others around me. My relationship with my father brcane the ultimate test of ability for me to love and forgive. If God chose to forgive and love me, how could I not do the same for my father?

Remeber that pain and hurt from our primary relationship can be carried for a lifetime. This can be resulted to multiplied misery.

Taking to God is not bad, but we need this to have the offer he has given us. God already knows what we are thinking and feeling. It means, he is less concerned with your words than the attitude of your heart.

If want or feel ready to receive the forgiveness God wants you to experience, you could pray something like this:

Lord Jesus, I really want to know you with all of my heart. Thank you for dying on the cross so that I could know forgiveness and love for the ways I turned my back on you. I now invite you into my life and choose to hand over control to you. Make me the kind and loveable of person you want me to be.

All relationships need time and good intentionality in order to grow. There is no different with God.

5
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mikaella27
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mikaella27
3 years ago

Comments

I had the same experience as you asking to choose between them and I'm always saying I go with Papa but we're family we fix it. And we're still together. Nice article. ❤ Just subscribed you now!

$ 0.00
3 years ago