The Power of Contentment

1 17
Avatar for mikaella27
3 years ago

I'm precisely a target-oriented person — I've always got my eye on a target, whether it's writing a list, running a marathon, improving my blog, waking up early, losing weight, or one of a dozen other goals I've had (and typically attained) in the last couple of years. And once I've achieved a target, I'm beginning to look for another one: now that I've finished my second marathon, I'm looking for a third.

Isn't it a contradiction, then? Doesn't that seem to mean that I'm not convinced with my life? Not at all, man. I am exceptionally satisfied with my life, with what I have, and with who I am. I have accepted that I am the type of person who will always strive for a goal, the type of person who loves a challenge and loves an adventure. It's not the target that counts to me — it's the journey to get there that's so satisfying. And I'm delighted to be that kind of person.

So contentment is not an issue of being content with your life situation and never trying to alter it. It's a matter of being happy with what you have — but remember that, as humans, we're still going to try to change, no matter how happy we are. If we don't, we're going to retire in life.

We like whether we're satisfied or awful. Read that sentence again if you don't already test it consciously in your everyday life. If you're embarrassed about your life right now, I'm going to plan to think it's because you've decided to be annoying. That sounds tough, but it's entirely true in my experience.

What manners, feelings, and attitudes were different between my times of unhappiness and happiness? When I was sad, I was dwelling upon all the negative things about my life. Not only that, but I kept feeling about how bad they were, and I would regret and wonder, "Why me? "I would have provoked myself to slip into disuse and ultimately depression. I would be irritable, and I would make everyone around me sad. Who, in truth, just made things terrible. It wasn't going to help my job.

Despite my situation, I was happy, because I wanted to be happy. I found fulfillment with what I already carried, rather of hoping I had something better, instead of being dissatisfied with what I had. Not only did contentment make me satisfied, but it changed my life in different ways. Here's how it is.

Happiness

This is possibly the most apparent area influenced by this list since many people see "content" and "happiness" as a similar thing. They are in several ways, but it's just a matter of priority. When you're satisfied, it's just a state of being, affected by an example of factors, including satisfaction.

Contentedness, on the other hand, is a circumstance of being happy with what you have. It indicates what you've got and doesn't have rather than just being a state of being. It impacts happiness. Yet, you can prefer to be content, just as you can choose to be happy because if you choose to be content, you'll be satisfied.

There are several ways to be happy — you can be happy by doing those stuff (running, bringing into Flow, having sex), you can be glad because you're admired or in love, you can be happy because you just won a contest or a million dollars. Being content is only one way to be happy, but it's an incredible way to be happy.

Simplicity:

Simplicity, of course, signifies a lot to a lot of people, but for me, contentment is at the essence of simplicity. It's about being satisfied with less, with a simpler life, rather than always wanting more, having more, and never being content.

Simplicity indicates to analyze why you want more and to deal with the problem at its core. It's not happy with what you have at the origin of wanting more. You don't need more than once you've realized to be happy. You should stop paying for and start appreciating yourself.

3
$ 1.80
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mikaella27
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mikaella27
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article. I love to read it. Keep writing dear. Good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago