Discovery Of Mural Paintings on KL Streets

11 45
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

KL tower is one of the prominent buildings you'll get to see when you walk or tour around KL. I stood under a tree to capture this photo as the sun shone brightly in the sky. As I continued to walk, I noticed many mural paintings in the streets!

Nice combination of colours! Love the blue and green colour in the background that makes this painting looks so soothing to the eye.😄

Looks like a barter system is going on in the painting. A sack of onions to a basket of potatoes maybe?

The brown in this painting symbolises the earthly origin of everything. The brown dusty ground, brown kampung houses, brown cows, brown carts, brown gunny sacks. I believe it shows how ancient toiling looks like decades ago.

Love the fresh and lively green! It means a bountiful harvest! 🥦

Oh, poor guy, he must be feeling really tired. Caught a food delivery guy resting in the back alley. He blended so well with the background. Almost look like a 3D mural! 😂

Me and @iamjadeline in our shutterbug mode. So amazed that they relive this boring back alley into a street full of colourful murals.

Passed by the Ali, Muthu, Ah Hock restaurant too. It is a contemporary Kopitiam that focuses on the multi-racial food traditions of Malaysian cultures. Ali (represents a Malay name), Muthu (an Indian name), and Ah Hock (a Chinese name).

'Warung' means a kiosk/small eatery shop in Malay. 'Pak Ali' means an uncle named Ali. Warung is usually located near the roadside and sells Malay cuisine such as Nasi Lemak, Mee Goreng, Teh Tarik etc.

'Kedai Gunting Rambut' means a hair salon. If there's a barber's pole outside of the shop, then this is a barbershop that cut, groom, and shave hair or beards for men.

If you grew up in Malaysia, you might have seen this Roti Man roaming in your neighbourhood before. Roti Man usually hangs all sorts of bread and tidbits on his bike's storage box. And to "announce" his arrival, he will honk on every street he goes. Haha, how I miss the honking sound. I've not seen a Roti Man for a long time!

'Ah Hock Food Trading' basically means a fruit stall owned by a Chinese guy named Ah Hock. I still see fruit stalls like in the market nowadays. I love fruits!

Last mural of the day - a HUGE SLICE OF PIZZA! Super love this vibrant and colourful art piece! Makes me feel so hungry after looking at it. Look at that pulling cheese... 🧀🤤 Maybe I should get a good pizza one of these days!

As I travelled to KL more often in recent months, I noticed lots of random mural paintings in the streets! These paintings are new, judging by the paint colours. I didn't hunt for these murals but accidentally discovered them as I walked past the streets. Glad that I manage to capture a few on my camera!

It was a scorching hot day! But a sunny day like this also means sufficient natural sunlight, which makes these paintings a little more outstanding in the photo.😄

Most murals display how people worked hard in various jobs to meet their needs back in the day. At a similar location, I caught some modern-day workers resting in the back alley after a long working day. What a coincidence to have this visual contrast between the olden and modern-day hardworking workers. :)

Then, we passed by the Ali, Muthu, Ah Hock restaurant, a homegrown eatery that offers nostalgic Malaysian food. Apparently, this is the original branch among the mushroomed branches in Klang Valley. I like that they have their logo, murals and props outside their restaurant to represent the 3 major races in Malaysia. It also gives people an idea of the kind of food and drinks they sell in their restaurants

Hope to discover more mural paintings on KL streets! 📷

7
$ 5.85
$ 5.00 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
+ 2
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

Comments

And this is why I follow you. We have the same interests. I fell in love with murals while I was visiting Melbourne.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I've seen graffiti street art in Melbourne too! They have a very different vibes from the street art here in Malaysia. Haha nice to know we have the same interest flapiz! :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope I would get to meet you someday when I manage to achieve my Malaysian travel dream.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the murals hard to pick a favorite one. I mean to tip you $0.10 and accidentally hit $5.00. If you so kindly would give me back $4 it would be appreciated darn amounts to close 😂

$ 4.90
1 year ago

Hey there, thanks for dropping by Coolmidwestguy!

Oh boy, I can imagine the heart attack! 😂

I've tipped you $4.90 on the previous comment. Please continue to spread your kindness and generosity to others, like you always do! 😊

$ 0.50
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the understanding. I had a different comment typed out and was trying to go back to the previous page like that would fix it, haha.

In the end, it just means you got my attention. I will forever show you a little extra love :) here's a little extra for the fees..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww you're too kind. Thanks a lot! May you be blessed with more generous readers in return too! 😄🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha as someone who just earns a little, I was shocked and was like, "woahh, coolmidwestguy's earning big time" hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha this is the 2nd time I've done the $5 mistake. Haha I keep doing it to people I just meet too, haha. I'm just grateful I did it to someone who's understanding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I rarely see mural paintings that's why whenever I get to see some, I'm always amazed. I believe these paintings you've shared are really extra amazing in person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I'm amazed by the artist's creativity too! Hope this article gives you a glimpse of what a mural paintings look like in real life. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago