Would our lives be better if we had no emotions?

2 21
Avatar for micahlord
3 years ago

My intentions are NOT to sound negative. I am trying to look at our emotions and feelings from an objective point of view.

As I write this, I sit here in disappointment as something I planned; did not go as planned. This event was supposed to make my life easier, and give me more luxury. But it didn't happen.

As I wallowed in my sadness, I remembered a scene from a movie I watched the other day. Unfortunately I don't recall the name of the movie.. it was a sci-fi film based on emotion being a "disease." A feeling of uneasiness came over me, but I thought about all the things that motivated me and most of it were a feeling. I once had a career in marketing, and now that I think about it--unless the product or service was needed (i.e our basic needs); then what would sell?

The problem with me is when I feel, I REALLY feel. Even though this shouldn't be such a big deal, this feeling of disappointment has snowballed and now it feels as if I'm going to experience both an identity AND existential crisis. There are traumatic events that still carry weight in my life, and now all I can conclude is emotion is what triggered it. Here are some examples:

-family member bullied me. Why? because I took the spotlight from her. The emotion: jealousy. What would happen if she acknowledged my birth, then didn't care about having this "spotlight"?

-My current weight gain. The emotion: feeling empty and depressed. What if I didn't feel bad for things not going my way, or empty? Would I just eat, just because I need to nourish my body as a human being; and not because I need to fill a void?

I could go on but I'll provide a few other outsider examples I've seen myself:

-There are some people I know who are in toxic relationships, yet don't want the other person to leave simply because they don't want to feel "alone"?

-Feelings of anger controlling other people's actions during a heated argument, can often end in unwanted consequences.

Then I think about the jobs that would be lost if emotions no longer existed.: marketing, most of the police force, entertainment etc..

So how exactly do our emotions serve us? Apparently they're like a value system. I forget where I've read this now, but somewhere in college the instructor mentioned each emotion has a purpose. I've concluded it's best to know what triggers your emotions, why we have them, and don't let them control you--you control them.

4
$ 9.39
$ 9.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for micahlord
3 years ago

Comments

If things didn't go as well as you planned or hope for. Take a step back and look around maybe you will find the answer you're looking for. Take it as a challenge :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you <3 you're absolutely right <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago