Wrong Turn

13 33
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experiences

It was around 8:30 in the evening and I have this itch at the bottom of my foot that I could not scratch off. I took a quick shower and got dressed. It was just a simple basketball shorts and a shirt over my body. I did not even bother combing my hair, well I really don't comb my hair, my fingers will suffice. Funny enough, there are lots of things that my fingers could do, fixing my hair was one of them.

I looked around the neighborhood and there was like an occasion or party that was going on in the next house, there's always something happening on that house. One time there was a big gathering of men drinking outside the gates, another night there were some teenage boys jamming with their guitars and their evening songs. But the thing is, why was I never invited to any of these? Well, maybe the fact that we all don't know each other plays a big part of the reason.

The night was chilly and the wind's real cool. I can feel the chills over the thin shirt I had on so without spending more of my time out and to avoid catching an annoying cold, I jumped in the car and closed the door. Turned the ignition on and then placed the airconditioner to medium cool. Again, it was really cold that night.

I drove away from the parking spot and made my way into the business district. Looking left and right and I was on my best behavior careful not to go over the speed limit. The place was so dark and so my eyes are quite burdened by the lack of light source. I really have bad eyes when it comes to driving at night, when there's light in front of me, I can see nothing because I am easily blinded by the scattered lights on my vision.

Image 1

But when there is no light, obviously I can't see that well too. So in short, at night, I'm a scary driver. But well, some thrills eh?

While driving around, I noticed that I was in an unfamiliar place, well it's night, so everything looks different. I decided to stop by the coffee shop I saw on the corner of my eye.

I turned left on the intersection and then I took a right on an awkward turn and a thin piece of road going to the drive through of a fastfood chain. I didn't know where the entrance was and I could not see any arrows indicating to the right path. I slowly backed up and then a man in a security uniform waved at me and I stopped. I halted there, under the shade of a tree, where there is no light and it was dim.

I looked at him and tried to ascertain if it really was safe for me to entertain him. And with his uniform and the radio on his hand, I knew that he was part of the traffic enforcers in the area.

Rolling down the window, he greeted me good evening and I answered back. He was quite young and a slim and he was polite in talking to me. I smiled before I put on my mask and politely greeted him to.

And then the conversation started. He told me that I was "monitored" through the CCTV that I made a turn on a "no-right turn road". He informed me that the patrol will be on their way to apprehend me and issue a ticket for my violation.

Alright, I was cool, composed and I obeyed when he asked for my driver's license. I have been flagged down before, I know that the best course of actions is just to remain calm, talk in a low and steady voice, and just treat the man with respect.

I told him that it's okay. It's alright. We'll wait for the patrol to come. And then the "negotiation" begun.

He told me what would happen when the patrol comes over to us. He said, they will issue a ticket for my violation, my license will then be confiscated, I will have to attend a 2 hour strenuous seminar the next day, and I will collect my license with a 20 hundred peso fine.

And I, knowing a bit of the road he was trying to take, took the bait. Well, it's true, having your license confiscated will be so much of a hassle, plus that would mean that I would have to take a day off from work just to attend the stupid seminar and line up in their office.

With some sort of hopelessness in my voice I told him, "oh my, that's so much of a hassle. I don't think that I could do all that. I'm gonna miss work tomorrow."

He then scratched his head and with a smile he said, "since it's your first time, I will just let you off with a warning, and radio the patrol team to not come so they wouldn't be bothered anymore. I'll just tell them that I know you and I'll answer for you."

And then I said, "Oh can you do that? That's real helpful then. Please do."

And then he radioed of his "team" and explained the situation. In the end he gave me back my license and I thanked him for his service.

When I was on my way to closing the window, he said abruptly, "Oh, if you could just give me some money for coffee. It'll be okay."

Well I knew that was coming, I would have offered it in the first place, but I did not want to come off as trying to bribe an officer, I just waited for him to bring it up and I just gave him a hundred and I'm off to go.

And there I go, I got a bit lost on my way home since the roads are really dark and there were no signs and I could not really see a thing. And oh hey, I forgot to buy from the coffee shop, well that's okay, the money I'll use for coffee will be used by somebody else anyway.

Wow look at that, I just went out to buy a coffee for a stranger. What a night.

Epilogue

That is the case, more often times than not, on how such things go in this country. The most important thing is just to be calm, let the guys do their "job" and you won't be in even more trouble and hassle.

Was that a good thing? In a way, it is. It's more convenient for foolish drivers such as myself, but you know, morally and professional it's obviously a no-no. I have no problem doing all those things he said, I have no problem settling things the right way, but I would rather lose a small amount than a bigger amount and a large chunk of my time.

What would you have done in this case though?

Hey you!

It's been a while. How have you been? It's real nice that you are here. Thanks by the way for reading this one. So what are your thoughts in this little misfortune I had? Have you ever been apprehended or flagged down before? As for me, I was issued a ticket one, I got my license confiscated twice and I have been flagged down several times too. Never have I ever got into a screaming contest with any officer though, that's just a waste of time and dignity.

Anyhow, I would like to sincerely thank you for dropping by, I would like to hear from you though and as always...

Cheers!!!


References:

Image 1 : https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/how-to/g106/10-safety-tips-for-driving-after-dark/

11
$ 1.30
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Experiences

Comments

I actually thought it was only in my county we get to see those sorts of behavior from the force men.

I don't know why but I don't like those guys neither do I trust them. It is good you found your way home which is more important knowing that you are bad with the dark.

And for your neighbors, maybe you could just go over their place and introduce yourself, it won't do any harm I guess. Just thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah yeep, that's very fortunate thing to be home. Thanks..

And as for the neighbors. That's really not a bad idea. I will try that soon. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright... You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kung ako magsisi talaga ako kung bakit lumabas pa ko..at pre payong kaibigan wag ka na mag drive pag gabi..with the state of your eyes you might get yourself into more trouble

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhaah oo nga. pag kelangan lang talaga.. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako ata magpapanic ako nyan, saka if ever sakin mangyari, bigyan ko oa sya ng 599 para lang di hassle. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah 599 pa eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko sa horror mapupunta ito. Nakuu.

Ito siguro yung "Lagay" na tinatawag nila. Ano? Pampakape or pang "meryenda" kamo. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhaha pangkape un gabi na eh. hahhaha hehe horror story din kahit papano..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, dapat talaga kalma lang. Pero I doubt kung magagawa kung kumalma 🤣 di din ako sigurado kung hihinto ba ako huhu. Eh akala ko nga mumu yung trffic enforcer eh 😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha oo. mukha nga din eh.. hahaha Pag naharang sa gate, ayun nalang dahilan. hahha mukha pong mumu eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks nmn very polite naman makipag usap kay manong enforcer lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah syempre... chill lang dapat tayo.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago