Things Aren't Important Until They're Gone

49 94
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Diary

April 20 2021

People always say that the value of something will only be realized when it is gone. I have always agreed on that even though I have not really experienced it before, well that is until today. It is really eye opening to experience something so poetic but at the same time so realistic and seems so basic. So let us start from the beginning.

I woke up at around 5:35 in the morning. Pretty specific you say? Well that is because I was waken up by the sound of chimes on my phone. Yep you guess it right, I have set an alarm. There is something magical about alarms though, when you set it to a different time than you are accustomed to, there is a tendency that you’ll wake up before the alarm even goes off. I don’t know if it’s excitement or what. But that just seems to always happen to me. Anyhow, I woke up, said my prayers and off to the comfort room I go.

Checked mails, inboxes and of course, browsed through the morning greetings of the fellows back on noise.cash. I also checked the weather as I usually do every day. It was looking like a fine day all day so I decided to wash the car a little bit better. Don’t get me wrong, I always wipe down the car because that is how I was taught to care for things. You may say that the car is not a necessity but in today’s situation I am sorry but I beg to differ. With all the things happening around, convenience is not the only thing a service could bring you but also that extra level of safety. Commuting now via public transportation has that added risk of the virus’ transmission. At least if you are travelling with a private vehicle there is that illusion that you are like inside your own bubble. And I like that. Anyway back to cleaning.

Armed with a cleaning rag and a small bucket filled with water I went out to the parking space. The building complex provides ample spaces for each car so I could move around and about the vehicles and perform a simple cleaning.

Photo from Pexels.com

And will all that ready to go, I proceeded in washing and wiping the surfaces of the car. While cleaning, I exchanged pleasantries with the other tenants of the building that are coming and going through the metal gates. I even exchanged a short story with the caretaker of the building who was sitting a few feet from me while he was having his breakfast and sipping his coffee.

I also observed the couple from the building just walking about in front of the gates. Their morning walks are kind of short. From the building to the small store across the street. I say across the street but really the distance was no more than ten feet. I always see them around together although I have not really talked to them yet. The guy was a little short for the tall woman but she doesn’t seem to boss him around. She even went to buy the guy cigarettes while he sat beside the gates and drank his coffee. We exchanged smiles and I continued wiping down the car. Wax in, wax off.

Greeting people going and coming home from work I counted like five people who went home at that time and 3 people off to work. Time passed by slowly and I was working quite a bit of sweat. I wiped the final touches on the car’s surface and I am done. Tossed the rag into the then empty bucket and I locked the car doors. I picked up the bucket and went to the gates.

And just like that, I was left without any option but to scratch my head. Why? The gate is locked. I do not have the keys with me and I am outside the gates. I am outside the gates! No need to panic, I still have 10 minutes to prepare for work. Wait…I only have 10 minutes!

I paced back and forth around the building thinking and looking for someone to let me in. No one was there, the caretaker was gone. The couple was gone. There were no more people coming and going through the gates. They were all there before, I did not need them. But now that I do need them, they were no where to be found. And then I realized that it was pretty much the same as the saying, “you’ll never know the real value of things, until they are gone.” And I was like “wow”. And I have nothing else to do but smile on that realization and my own stupidity.

Thankfully after another 5 minutes of pacing back and forth the caretaker emerged from nowhere and let me in with a smile on his face as he said “Oh, did they lock you out?”

Well, lesson learned and I attached the gate and home keys to my car key. All is well I think.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading this article. I hope you have a great day ahead and if you have any thoughts about this one drop by on the comment section. And as always, cheers!!!


Sources :

Lead Image : Photo by Kaboompics .com from Pexels

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

Photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

13
$ 29.94
$ 29.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Diary

Comments

Relate it somehow you just see the important of a thing when it's gone and after you'll regret. Just for like this I stopped being a working student because I missed so much my family and then when I'm stay at home I just realized that those work is very important to me. But then it's okay too my family just support my study.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for the appreciation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is indeed that what the title speaks about that things are not important until they are gone. And I have experience this feeling many times. Good article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the stupid things I do with these keys is in a hotel. I open the hotel room, then left the key outside, then sleep, all the while, the keys are outside the hotel room, anybody can go inside.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol I thought someone stole the car but it turns out to be the car keys you left! Haha. This is very true. Especially if we apply this to our current environment - the number of mangroves and trees and endangered species that we have in our country. We will only know they are important once we experience extreme weather and natural catastrophes. I hope we learn our lesson during this pandemic before it's too late.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wow! You are in pretty deep with stories today. How did you get here? Hahah this one's pretty old.

But.. thank you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a More Articles links below each of our articles. That's how I got here. Don't you read old articles too? I am always surprised when people are surprised that I read other people's work from weeks or even months ago. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah I actually don't, I read whatever read.cash suggested me to read. And there are tons on my subscriptions list that I go through every day. Wow, now that you say that, I'll try reading more stories from before. :) thaaanks

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah I see. Haha. Yes I heard about the saved articles feature. I have yet to use it. Maybe I will do the same soon. You're welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha so many saved articles...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty much the true. We never know the value of somwthing until they are gone. We have a proverb. ' You won't know the vlue of your teeth until they are gone.' In bengali > Dat thakte dater morjada na bojha. We makes mistakes, gets to know what is costs to us and suffer. Best thing is to learn from mistake and make sure we won't repeat it again

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Hmmm interesting... but I wonder why is the proverb about teeth??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because sometimes we eat a lot of chocolates and thwn we damages our teeth. Then it hurts, we can't eat properly. But it's actually said cz it's easier for us to eat meat and other hard and chewable things. But when you don't have teeth, mainly in old age, we get how hard it is to eat without teeth. From there they proverb actually came

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow . That's a pretty concrete explanation. Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anytime😉😉😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe in that, too! Anyway, I can't stop smiling when I read this. This is really funny, but not when I myself will experience it. What's fun with anxiety anyway?

I have experienced a similar thing. This time, it's my ID. You know school ID is sooo important in universities; I can't go in if I didn't have it with me. Here's what happened:

I have already seen my school ID hanging from the corner of my bed. I thought, when I finish brushing my teeth, I will get you. I said (in my mind). What actually happened is that I took my bag with me after I brushed my teeth, wore my shoes and went to school. I only realized my stupidity in front of the school gate.

I had to go back—I had no choice, and I was so pissed off by myself that day. Hahaha. Good thing I was staying at dorms near the campus.

From that day on, I have learned to just keep the ID in my bag, so I can always retrieve it there when I forget.

Happy Tuesday!

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Oooh got a lot of stories about school ID with university. One time I also left mine, but unlike you my house is a little under an hour away from the university. So what we do in situations like that is we hover around the gates and join a pack of students to go inside so we won't stand out, if we're caught then we turn around and try another gate. Or we would call a classmate who has a car and then we will ask him to fetch us from outside and usher in to school riding his car. Haha so witty. Also shows how our society has double standards.

If you're walking, no ID no Entry if you have a car, alright you can go in, we don't care. Hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have done that before too! Anyway, it's another story! I felt too lazy to come back so what I did is I wore the lace that carries my phone (not my ID lace of course) and I wore my backpack in the front. I was so lucku the guard didn't bother checking. Hahahaha! Good old days.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. That's another secret technique. Even now that I am working I have that 'extra' lanyard for emergencies. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana owl my car haahha. Pero yeah I had to learn the harder way din regarding this. Pero laban pa rin. Ganun tlag may mwawala may darating.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Ay oh? Pwede na daw pambayad sa dealership ang BCH. haha Go na yan. Ay ano yang nawala na yan? Ano ung dumating? hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana tao yung dumating pero bagay kami wahaha kaso yung nwala hayop yun 😂 lanyang hayop hahahahaha

Oy san n dealer yan? Haha cant afford pa mag car pro totoo iba yung nka private vehicle kesa commute. Before sa work commute ako nkakaparanoid may madikit sayo taz araw2 ka uuwi sa bahay galing work naliligo agad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha maipropose nga dto samin yang crypto. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Last 2020 nung nagbakasyon mga boss ko sa Taiwan, binigay sakn ang susi ng main door sa bahay.. One nigjt nagtapon ako ng basura hndi ko dinala ang susi kc hndi ko naman isasara ang gate. But I did not checked the main door knob, and it was locked 🤣 I was like, WTH.. Nsa loob ang keys, nsa bakasyon ang may ari ng bahay. I thought I will sleep outside that night. I have no choice but to call a help with the guard. May tinawagan a taga gawa ng susi, pro good thing naopen ang door sa ginawa nyang technique.. No need to make a spare key. $400 din nagastos ko dun pambayad sa pag open ng door 🤣🤣

Then guess what? That night my boss arrived like almost 12 in the evening.. Wth talaga.. Gumastos pa ako ng $400 darating pla sla 😭😭 After that incident lage na nsa bulsa ko ng keys at always checking the maindoor if lock bago ako lumabas ng gate.

Dto kc sa HK, prang condo style mga bahay. Gate then maindoor. Ganun ang style.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Hahha that's exactly what happened, I didn't bring the keys because "hindi ko naman isasara ung gate" and then boom. They locked it. Hahaha And wow, $400 for a locksmith to open the door? Who knew that BnE's are a lucrative profession if done legally. hahaha.

Ayan at least natuto na tayo. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakita ko nga ginawa nya, my inislide lng na something.. Naisip ko. Kung nakahap lng ako ng card that time, yun dn gagawin ko.. Instant $400 wengya .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ang sakit naman pala. $400 na yun? Hahaha pamasahe lang puhunan eh. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe sa $400 para sa susi mahal hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hkd not usd 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay mas mura ba yun kesa usd?😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

6.25 ata rate ngayon.. Pro mahal parn satin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha mahal nga din

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang napansin ko lang ay may Car ka na may susi 🙁, sana alls may cars. Nagpa change oil kana po? Haha. Wala atang connect comment ko, gomen 🙈. I just don't know what to say.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Haha may Car ba na walang susi? Hahaha Ay kakatapos lang po pa change oil last week. :D Solved. I mean solved si car. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha suntukan nalang o, naghahanap itu ng away 🙄. Chorrr hahaha. Naols solved na ahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha. ay goo. papa change oil ka din? tara tara let's go samahan ko kayo. hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay hindi, suntukan nalang 💪 ahahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay pass ako jan. Ayaw ko ng sakit ng katawan. hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pero sa ibang sakit ng katawan goooo wahahaha. K. Bye.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo. haha Wag lang yung puro sakit talaga. hahahaha ba yan! Aga aga. hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all may sariling car!😆 Are you a real blogger? I mean you have your own domain?

$ 0.03
3 years ago

haha sus. Few months lang nyan, afford mo na yan. Hehe I used to have my own website. But I dropped it back in late 2020 because Google change their ads policy etc etc...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha masyadong mahal kotse😆 sayang naman parang masaya pa naman mag blog kapag may sarling domain😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, that's true. Ang hirap lang, random lang ung blogs ko nun, walang niche or particular theme kaya walang following talaga. Okay lang naman kahit hindi brand new. As long as it runs smoothly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ayun lang haha, based on my research mas maganda daw kung consistent yung laman ng blogs mo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep! That's true. The more the specific your topics are mas mahal ka ng SEO rankings. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano ba yang SEO? curious talaga ako d'yan😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Search Engine Optimization. Eto yung halimbawa, nag search ka sa Google ng "Laurenceuuu" Ung mga unang items na mkikita mo un ung mga nakaoptimized. Kasi sila una nakita ni google. O kaya naman, ang niche ng blog mo is about Crypto, pag nag search ka ng "Crypto" sa google ung blog mo unang lilitaw kasi mataas ung ranking mo sa SEO... ganun ganun..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh medyo gets ko na hahaha salamat po

$ 0.00
3 years ago