Shopping Spree Syndrome

11 48
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Have you ever been to a grocery store, a department store or whatever store to buy specific things but when you get out and when you get home you realized that you took home a whole lot more than what you came to buy?

Well this is not about any disease or underlying illness, I am just sharing what happened to us when we went out to the mall to buy a pair of shoes.

So we were out one day and went to a shoe store inside a mall. I won't say the name of the store but for people from my country, I think they can somehow guess which store I am talking about.

There we were browsing around the displayed stocks in the store. The footwear were all neatly displayed and were organized. They were orderly displayed and sorted out by size. We were there to buy a pair of ladies shoes. Since I had nothing more important to do, I also walked around and looked at what they had in their inventory. I'd rather browse than to sit idly and oddly in the middle of one of the aisles.

I saw a pair of Champion brand shoes that was on sale. It looks pretty decent and it looks a lot like the pair I bought 2 years ago from Skechers. But it's better cause it does not have shoe laces. I prefer the slip on type of shoe, I find those comfortable when I use them in the office. Thinking that there won't be any harm done, I tried the pair. I walked around the store in it and there I was, busy getting sold to them. So without anymore jibber-jabber, I asked for their stock of that same pair. I'll take it.

Then the magical sort of scam started. It's not really scam, I just called it that because I somehow felt that it was, but really, it was not. The clerk informed me that Champion brand has another promotion at that time that we can avail. Note that the pair is already on sale. He said that we can still choose another shoe from their brand and we'll only have to pay half of the regular price of the second pair.

Our brains started to rotate and the computations went by as fast as we could count 1 to 5. We decided to avail of it. In short we took another sneaker from their brand. So now we have two pairs of shoes, that we bought for cheap. But we are yet to buy the pair that we came there to buy. So the browsing and fitting continued.

After a few more minutes of trying on shoes after shoes, we found what we're looking for. And then we went onto the counter to pay for the three pairs of shoes that we now have.

After the cashier punched in all the items we carried, we are again informed by the cashier that if we can reach a certain amount, we can avail of their installment promo. The amount was not far from how much we currently are going to pay. The amount they need for the installment was maybe around 4,000, and we are already 200 or so shy of that amount. So we decided to again, avail of that one.

Browsed through the neatly displayed aisles again to look for another pair of shoes so we can reach the required amount for their promo. This time, instead of shoes, we decided to pick up a pair of sandals. Chose a pair which looked like a cheap copy of Birkenstock and settled for it. Back to the counter we went.

We're ready to pay then go and what do they say to us? Since we picked up a pair of sandals we are entitled for another promo, we can pick up another pair of sandals and pay just half the price of it.

We thought about it again, since we're paying for it via installment, it would not be a huge burden to pay. We went to the aisles again and picked one.

Another pair was chosen and we're now paying. As they were bagging the boxes of footwears we bought, well actually they were just tying straw around the boxes, they informed us that we qualify for another freebie since we reached a certain amount. The items to choose from are socks, a shoe cleaner and a children's shoes. Well since I don't have a kid, we were inclined to choose either the socks or the cleaner. The clerk convinced us that if it were him, he'll choose the children's shoes because well, it's the logical and practical choice since it costs way more than the other two items. And we chose to follow his suggestion and went with the shoes.

We now have 3 pairs of shoes, 2 pairs of sandals and a kid's shoes which I'll give to my godson. All of which are payable in staggered payment. So I don't know if we got so much value for our money or are we scammed out of more money than we were ready pay. I thought we could pay less in that store, I guess we had to pay more. :)

Anyway, Cheers!

Hi!

Thank you for reading this. Have you had any experience such as this one? This may be the reason why I don't want to do the groceries, my receipt always ends up twice as long as it should be. Anyhow, if you have any thoughts on this, please let me know down below. :)


Lead Image : Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

6
$ 6.45
$ 6.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.17 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 1
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments

𝐖𝐨𝐰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very sweet retorting to the sales ladies. hihihi. Just kidding.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

They're just don't their jobs, so.... hahaha I just don't want to be rude. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehehehe. True. We just really have to be level headed as buyers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, when I'm assigned to do the grocery shopping, I always go over budget. 😓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too bad. Hehe. It's hard to budget, really.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is if your budget is limited. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ouch hhhahaha. true. and truth hurts. joke haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah yeah. I always am short sa budget. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

E di wow! Hehehe. Let's try harder.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahhaa ayun nalang talaga. Try harder. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago