She's a B%tch : Chapter V

0 31
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Chapter IV

Tapping my thumb against the steering wheel kept me from bursting into a premature laughter. I was drowning in anticipation on how embarrassed Elizabeth would be. If I could pat myself in the back for a well thought out despicable plan I would but then again, I'm a believer of safety and defensive driving so hands on 10:20. Her flustered face, red in embarrassment, her lips bitten in an attempt to control her anger and the seemingly steam coming out of her head. I could not help but chuckled on just the thought of it. Her face, her innocently serene face. Wait...what? I shook my head awkwardly to get rid of the mirage my stupid brain offered me.

I got out of the car and checked my phone. As I looked at the screen I saw who was calling me. I smiled on how witty I was with the word play, Elizab%tch. I'm just too clever for my own good. "Yes? I just got here." As I walked towards the meeting place she was rushing towards me. Frantically running and I met her in the middle.

"Should.. I really wear this?" she asked hesitantly.

"What do you mean?" I replied trying hard to hold back my laughter. I looked at her from her feet to her hair, from her boots and to the red ribbon tying up her hair and to complete that western cowgirl look a red scarf around her neck.

"But...but..for the very few minutes I've been inside, I had been asked for service water 3 times, 2 other customers asked their orders from me and I was asked by another staff to clean a table."

Brilliant, my plan to dress her like the wait staff at the Texas Cowboy themed restaurant has been nothing but brilliant.

"Wow, you've already had your hands full." I said. The tears on the side of her eyes were enough to give me the satisfaction I was seeking.

"Can.... I please change?"

"Okay, giddy up."


The meeting went and was done without any further issues. The night came by quickly and I found myself seating on a bar with a glass of whiskey on a hand and a mug full of beer in front of me. It seems like I'm counting day by the day the time that Jen would leave me alone again. Can I really get on without her by my side? And when a problem arise, am I sure that I can trust myself to decide what's right without running it by her first?

And maybe to answer my own questions, another gulp of whiskey was all I needed. I don't think so. As I placed my glass on top of the counter I waved my hand towards the bartender, "Another one. Make it double on rocks this time." I slid towards him a couple of hundred bucks, "Just keep them coming okay?" he smiled and I nodded at him. I may not be able to buy happiness but at least I can drown my tears in alcohol.

The music loudly banging through my brain and the sharp flashes of blinding lights across the dim room makes the effect of the alcohol a little bit more dizzying. I felt the weight of my head getting heavier in every drop I sip, my eyes losing focus and the room starts to whirl. I grabbed my phone and hit speed dial. The call connected and the voice said, "Drew? Drew.. it's a bit loud. Can you speak up?"

And I swear that everything I said was coherent and clear. "Jen, are you sure you're leaving me? Please don't go..."

"WHAT?! Are you drunk? I can't go there and pick you up. You stay put I'll send Elizabeth to pick you up. The usual right?" with that the call drop. It's amazing how well Jen knows me even my bad habits, she does not condone nor condemn them. She's just there. Always have been. Wait a minute? Did she just say that Elizabeth will be picking me up? What the hell?

"Mate! Another one!!" I slammed the mug without my intention. "You alright there?" he asked. "I think you've had enough."

"Just one more please..." I begged of him.

The drink went to 2 then 3 and half a bottle later I felt a cold sensation creeping up my face. I struggled to open my eyes and everything was sideways. Was there an earthquake? A catastrophe? Did the building fell down? NO. I was just a tad drunk with my face against the counter and melted ice flowing on it. At the corner of my eye I can see a familiar face walking up on me.

There's only too few of bits I could gather from the conversation as I struggle to stay conscious.

"Is he paid?"

"Yes he is. Are you together? You got him?"

"Yes, thank you. I'm his secretary...."

"Thanks..."

"No, thanks..."

With my fleeting consciousness, I could smell her hair fresh with the fragrance of hair products, was it roses? The gentle fragrant petals registered in my mind. Her hair was partially dry, evident that she rushed to this place after showering.

My head getting heavier and heavier and my eyes half shut, I vaguely see her face. "Li...Lizzie?"

Chapter VI

4
$ 2.20
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments