Our Best Local Dish

14 37
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

When you travel to a new place the first thing you notice is the scenery and the surroundings. It will feel strange as you observe the streets, the trees, the establishments and how they differ from your usual view of your home town or city. Even the air will feel different. But the thing that will most likely tell your whole body that you really are in a different part of the world will be the food.

No matter what part of this Earth you are living in, you have at least one dish or delicacy that sets your place apart from other places that offer the same thing. Especially here in the Philippines, there's an unspoken rule that a province or prefecture shall have a dish or food that it has to be known for.

Culinary Capital

Fortunately for me, I am born and raised in Pampanga which has been dubbed as the Culinary Capital of the Philippines. Since we were little kids, we are aware on how to discern good tasting home cooking from the average cooked food. Kids are taught how to cooked food following the recipes passed down by their ancestors so as they grow older, they hone their skills and develop their own version of the dishes to make it even more delicious or mouth watering. This may be one of the reasons why when you tell someone from another place that you are from here, they have that unfounded assumption that you somehow know how to cook good food. I'm not saying I'm a good cook, but I pretty much love what I can whip out in the kitchen. :)

One of the dishes our province is known for is called SISIG. If you have ever been to the Philippines, you might have tasted one of the many version of this dish.

Photo from Balay.ph

It has been accepted that "sisig" came from the local word "sisigan" which meant to munch on something sour, most commonly used for pertaining to eating green mangoes, kamias (bilimbi) and some other sour fruits. This may give us an idea that the original version of this dish is on the sour side of the tasty scale.

According to this article by Sharwin Tee entitled "Detailed Guide to Local Cuisine of the Philippines", sisig's early version may be a salad rendition consisting of onions, vegetables and chili. I could imagine this because our elders tend to make everything into a salad. Yep, even ferns. And they taste good too!

The version of this dish which I was accustomed to was made from pig's ears, face and liver. The parts are boiled with some salt and cooking oil and then they are grilled to a crispy perfection. After they were grilled, they are chopped to little pieces and are mixed in a cauldron or a container. Then the seasoning begins. The freshly squeezed calamansi juice is then added to the mix, and I mean a lot of calamansi. We then pour the right amount of soy sauce to season it. Onions are then chopped and then tossed into the container. Hot chilis are then cut up to tiny bits and in they go into the dish. Last ingredient to complete the dish is the ever famous liver spread, as we all call here as "Reno". Funny thing, we have been using this product for decades now and our government just now reviewed its importation rights? Anyway, yes, we still add that delicious spread even though we already have liver in the mix. It just doesn't taste right without it.

After all the mixing it's now ready to eat as it is. But to add to its already savory flavors we place the dish on a sizzling plate and put it over the fire until it sizzles. For the finishing touch we crack an egg over it and place it on top of the dish. We take it from the flame and into the dining table. While it was still sizzling hot, we mix it all again to cook the raw egg. And that's the dish I grew to love.

Varying Tastes

In my years of existence, I had the opportunity to taste different versions of this delicious dish. Although at that time, I expected to have similar tastes I was entirely surprised on how they span the dish and made it their own.

The first variation I tasted was back in college. I was studying in a university somewhere in Bulacan. And as a student we frequent places with affordable but fulfilling meals. That's why the word "Unli-Rice" sounded like music to our thrifty ears. During lunch time, we flocked behind the Capitol hall and there, a series of food stalls and carts offering many things. From varied skewers to full blown feast of meals.

And there it was, on a big bright picture, a serving of sisig partnered with yellow rice on a sizzling plate. Obviously, it was my first pick. I ordered that meal and sat down a crowded table. I stared at the dish, it somehow looks a little different on how I am used to. It looks kind of pale and a bit creamy. I took some with the spoon and tasted it for the first time. It even smelt differently. As soon as it touches my tongue I distinguished the main ingredient that gives it another whirl. It was mayonnaise. The dish I know by heart, (and it literally hugs the heart, be a little cautious in consuming fatty foods), has a new face, has a new taste. I can't really say I did not like it, because I am also fond of mayonnaise. The sour, meaty, spicy and a bit salty food that I love is now embraced with the mild sweetness of mayo. It was good but I don't really care for it. But then again, I was a student and I can't really afford to be a picky eater. :)

Other versions that I am now familiar with incorporates "Chicharon" that crispy pig skin, this one adds a bit more crunch to the dish. Others replace the pork parts altogether with chicken, tuna and/or milkfish.

Conclusion

When it comes to cooking, it will always be subjective and will depend on each person's preference. Good food is what we deem good, so eat what you like and let your heart be as full as your tummy (not the fats I hope.).

No matter how many types or versions of this dish I taste, I will always go back to my favorite rendition of it. The one that my father makes. Nobody could argue with me but that is just the best sisig I ever had, and I am pretty sure it's the best I will ever have.

And just a side note, this is the best "pulutan" (appetizer) ever. Be it beer, whiskey or gin. It goes well with this dish, so grab a spoon and a drink, cheers!


Lead image : Photo byΒ LukasΒ fromΒ Pexels


7
$ 14.29
$ 14.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Zerlincs
+ 2
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments

My tip's going for the sisig that I love. Couple it with cold soft drinks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I appreciate that! Another sisig lover! Let's drink to that! Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nong isang araw oa ako nagki crave sa sisig oi, tapos may paganito kapa 🀧, ang sama mo 🀧 chorrr lang. Pero seryso tagal ko nng di nakakatikim ng sisig, huling tikim ko is no g huling punta oa namin sa kay mang inasal 🀧, magdedelata nalang ba ako 🀧

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Wehehe. Damay damay na to. Hahaha. Masarap din ung sisig na delata ng purefoods may additional lasa ng lata. Kakaiba. Okay na din sakin un pag no choice. :D hehe. Pero seryoso nga, okay sakin yun. Pati nga ung sisig meal ng 7-11, pinapatos ko eh. hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, unique nga pero okay na din nga un tapos mahalangs 🀀🀀, yummy yummy yummy 🀀. Diko la natatry yang sa 7/11 diko nga alams na may ganyan dun πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo! For Php 29, may sisig at rice kana. Isang kutsarang sisig at isang cup ng rice. Heheh Pwede na pantawid ng kumakalam na sikmura. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabi naman sa isang kutsara oi. Pwd na rin ngani un kaso bitin naman hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha totoo yun. Swear. Sinukat ko eh. Hahaha. Tinry ko isubo lang ubg part na may ulam. Voila. Wala na. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, pero uulit kapa. Ung ginawa kanang tanga ipaglalaban mo pa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo naman. Hahaha uulit pa din. Kahit masakit. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aigooo, good luck ang fightuuu πŸ€§πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha un kasi ang abot kaya. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aigoooo, fightuu ulit haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heheh. Always.

$ 0.00
3 years ago