Here's my Calling Card, Call Me.

8 44
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Oh shit here it comes. I savored that tingling sensation that made me realized that I was still alive. I'm still a human in this forsaken world, might as well act as humanly as possible. What better way to feel human than spoiling yourself with Earthly human desires. I crumpled the paper towel into a ball and tossed it into the trash bin. Counted! Well, that adds to the countless sheets I've already thrown into it spanning through several days already. I turned the TV off to stop the adult entertainment that I was watching. Man, I didn't even reached the good part yet.

It has really been a while since I have felt another human's touch. By this time I think I forgotten how warm another person's skin is. I may even have forgotten how a normal human smells like. Well, I do take a bath regularly but you know that a person can't really smell himself like? Sensory adaptation or whatever they call it. Anyway it's a good thing that I found myself a companion. Speaking of which, where is that good boy. Alfred, hey Alfred.

As if he knows what his name is, the obedient dog came running towards me. I gave him some treats that I was able to score from a supermarket on the way back. He ate joyously. I stood and made my way down to the hotel's lobby. There was the counter on the reception's area that I haven't checked before, thinking there are some thing's I could use I jumped over and searched through the concrete tabletop. Pens papers everywhere. Maps were also neatly organized into a pigeon hole. I opened up a drawer and saw a small box with some cards in it. They were business cards of the Manager of the hotel. Well hello Ms. Lucy Chen. The cards were complete with the address of the hotel, the numbers and other contact information.

A light bulb turned on over the top of my head. The small blaze of hope is still alive inside of me. The hope that aside from myself, there are still other humans out there, living in fear and in hiding. Surely, I can't really be the only one. I don't want to be the only one. I could not accept it. I picked up all the cards and some pens and fervently went to my room to get dressed and be ready for another day out.

The new leash I got for Alfred was also a good idea, now I can bring him anywhere too. I also strapped a bag around him for some stuff that I could use for emergencies.

With a loud revving I sped out of there with my truck. Of course yes, I owned the truck already, no one can say otherwise. I went from place to place distributing the business cards with a note at the back that read "I'm alive. -James". I think that says enough for a person in my situation. It's really an open invitation for anyone who might still be out there.

I also drove all the way back to the beach where I found Alfred, placed a signed card on the beach house and fixed it in place with a pushpin against the door.

I drove through towns going from store to store, house to house and just everywhere I could place the business cards in until the very last one. I went home with a new feeling in my chest. I don't know what it was but I felt light.

Image 1

Tossed several more woods into the small bonfire I lighted on the rooftop. It has become part of my daily routine. It's where I sit in front of when I start my nightly rigmarole with myself.

Thinking back of what I just did, I sent an invitation to anyone that is alive, just anyone, regardless of who they are as long as they're still human I think I can live with them. And with that thought in mind I clasped harder on the pistol on my side while I stroked Alfred's head. I looked at him and out eyes met with his tongue out while he was waggling his tail. Hmm. Where do you think your owner or owners are? Are they even looking for you if they are alive? I don't think so buddy.

Hey there!

Wow you're here, thank you for dropping by in this lonely little Earth. I am out of ideas today so I thought that I should make my time working here, and even that didn't gave me much more to work with, I'm really out of ammo today, maybe because of all the CODM I was playing these past few days. LOL Anyhow, just like the story today, this is an open invitation to anyone who can't think of any topic to write. Just whip out your character and hop into the world we own called Earth.

Anyway, I appreciate you being here and as always!!!

Cheers!

P.S. Hi @Ellehcim I couldn't think of a good meeting point yet, so there, it's just an open story. Do your magic. :)


References:

Image 1: https://www.rooftopleadership.com/irons-in-the-fire/

9
$ 5.76
$ 5.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Let me see what I can do. Hahaha! Saving this while my imagination is still eating some salad somewhere away from my brain. xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha alright. :) ooh nice eat your greens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam ko, may kasunod na ito eh. I will just check sa community mismo. I was too pre-occupied that I still did not finish my draft on this. Let me read what I missed first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yep meron na. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice intro hahaha my mind picture out something,🤣 but still cannot get over not until today I've known you are a guy and not a gal 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I think you've pictured it right. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the twist and turn of it. I am actually craving for more haha like I was sad that it was the end already. Nooo!!! 😅😅

Well, it's the end I'm just hoping for some sequel, because my brain is wondering right now and making some scene to continue your story 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah I hope to continue more... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago