Celebrity for a Day

7 40
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Fiction

I was walking down a dark road in the middle of the night. The only light I can perceive was the flickering bulb from a lonesome lamp post at the side of it. I was not sure where I was, I was not sure why I was there, or where I was even going. I approached the street light and to my surprise, there sitting under it, right in front of me was an old feeble man. And then he asked. "Boy, if you would trade places with a famous person today, who will you be and why?" I gulped and took a deep breath before I answered. I pondered lots and lots about it and at last I uttered, I want to be Bill Gates.

Image 1

And why would I like to be Bill Gates? With the exception of the recent divorce with his wife of 27 years, who wouldn't right?

Money

As of this year, Bill Gates' net worth is on around a staggering amount of $130++ billion. And you read that right. BILLION. For one, I would have already brought to reality that one song that goes "I wanna be a billionaire, so f...... bad." That's not just a boat load of money. That is a ridiculously magnanimous amount of money. I wouldn't know how long shall I need to count that much.

First thing I would do is to withdraw a truckload of cash and make a bed out of it. You know, for fulfilling the fantasy of laying in a bed of cash instead of the bed of nails that I am accustomed to brought by poverty. LOL, I would also like to cover the whole flooring of my mansion with gold so I can see fancy things everywhere I go and everywhere I walked around.

I once saw a hotel's lobby floor with gold bars on the floor. I think that was in Hong Kong, and I swear, I never felt so poor before and so privileged at the same time. There is something electrifying when you are standing on top of a golden floor with lights all over.

With all that money in the bank, I will try to find something to buy. Something so expensive that will make me happy just to prove the old saying wrong. "Money can't buy you happiness." Maybe they just don't have enough or they do not know what to buy or where to buy the right stuff. In anyway, as they also say, it's better to wallow in sorrow inside a customized Rolls Royce than to cry inside a broken down sedan.

Charity

There is also something that I would try if I were Bill Gates for a day. There is this saying that "it's the thought that counts" it is usually applied when giving something to another person. That would not normally arise if you are giving something expensive, that saying will only see the light of day when you are giving someone something cheap or less expensive in the least. I am not really sure on whom that saying is really intended to? Is it for the giver so he or she will not feel guilty or feel bad that he or she wasn't able to give something extravagant to the receiver, or is it for the receiver to not feel so disappointed with the value of the gift.

Anyway, I would like to weigh that thought saying in the place of the giver. If I were Bill Gates and I have all those money to spare, will it still feel as good if I give someone a million dollar compared to giving someone a couple of bucks? I mean, how much more of a difference will it be when I as someone poor gave a homeless elder man enough to buy a meal compared to giving the same man enough to buy himself a home, will the difference something that indescribable?

Bill Gates is also known for his charity works. In a general point of view, he can be seen as contributing in the worldwide fight against poverty, diseases and inequality. That being said, I would like to feel the power to have an impact with the world's problems. I want to know how it feels to really matter. To have something to say, and to have the right to say it and to make the world listen. How does that feel? I could only imagine. Maybe if I could give $50 billion away, then maybe I can impact the battle we have with poverty.

Legacy

If you hear the name Bill Gates, the next word you will recognize is Microsoft. It has changed and affected a lot of the aspects of the modern life. From homes, to businesses, to hospitals and any establishment you can even imagine. If there's a computer in a building, rest assured that somehow, someway a Microsoft product or patent is used there.

Image 2

If I were Bill Gates for a day, there will be a lot of changes that I will make. A lot of products now that will be free of charge and the licensing will be just straightforward. Licensing Microsoft products as of today is a nightmare for tech people, not only for its amount but also to the process. Imagine you have a company with 50 computers and a single server. Ideally, you will have to purchase only 51 licenses right? But surprise! That's not the case, licenses for that small company will reach hundreds in count. And if I were him for a day, that's the first thing I'll change.

Conclusion

Those are just some of the reasons why, if I were to be somebody else for a day, I will choose Bill Gates. Some of the other reasons not included are not appropriate for this platform so I resisted to put them in. And all of those are connected to money, power and curiosity.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading through this one. This just came out of nowhere and I imagined that this question is often asked when you are trying to get to know another person. Maybe you play that game when in the early stages of a romantic relationship, you know, like that 21 questions kind of thing. Anyhow, if it were you, which celebrity or famous personality would you like to be in a day? And why?

While you ponder that, let me offer you my gratitude for taking your sweet time on this page and as always,

Cheers!!!


Sources:

Image 1 : https://www.technologyreview.com/2021/02/14/1018296/bill-gates-climate-change-beef-trees-microsoft/

Image 2 : http://www.mladiinfo.eu/2020/07/02/microsoft-full-time-customer-facing-technologies-opportunity-students-recent-graduates/

Lead image: https://www.j-14.com/posts/freaky-friday-cast-where-are-they-now/

8
$ 18.49
$ 18.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Cineholic
+ 1
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Fiction

Comments

Bill Gates wow! then I want to be a Doge Father "Elon Musk' for a day HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's a great choice too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting article. I would be Robert Downey Jr if I get a chance. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooohhh interesting. Mr. Ironman and Sherlock himself. That's a great choice. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah 😂😊❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nuxx paambon na lang next billy gates :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaa walang problema. May free MS office ka. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago