Banks Are Evil

10 34
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Bank, Experiences

I really hate going to banks. If I can avoid it, I will never go to one. They are evil, like politically evil. Whenever I step into one, I can feel every fiber of my body crawls in something sinister. It really feels that I do not belong there and I would like to be done there the soonest time possible.

It's just amazing to think that you have to fall in a long line just to lend them your money. And you will have to wait in even a longer queue just to withdraw from your own money. Amazing right?

Bank Tellers

Image 1

I am not really sure if that is part of their training or being partially unwelcoming and rude is just a requirement for tellers. I mean, aren't we supposed to be your customers? Correct me if I'm wrong but you guys are supposed to be providing us service right? We are putting in our trust, our money and resources into your company so, shouldn't we be received graciously and gladly? Of course I am not generalizing this, I know some people who works at banks and they are just superb in interpersonal relations but majority of the tellers you will see in banks are like unhappy robots that are not that happy to serve you. Rarely do I see a bank teller smiling at people.

Well I kind of understand them, bank transactions are almost non-stop, the lines of people doing transactions seemed to be endless. But why is it like that? Can't the system be improved? Or are they doing it deliberately as to deter more and more people from coming? I somehow feel for them, dealing with people all day is draining. I have also worked at a hotel's front office so I know how challenging it is to talk to people non-stop.

"We find ways..." as one of the banks tagline. You find ways to what? You find ways to annoy us consumers? Aside from going to the bank itself, they are offering some other channels of communication with them. Emails, calls and online banking. These are some pretty impressive alternatives only if they are done right. But when these services also suck, you are just left with your head aching and your frustration all built up on top of your head.

Just a while ago, I was trying to reach one of the banks I use. I am trying to terminate a credit card subscription because despite of not using, not even activating the card I was charged for an annual fee. No problem , I'll just pay that but I want to terminate the account. First thing I did was email them. And good enough I received a response, from a robot no less. What am I supposed to do with that? Several days passed and I tried calling them.

Calls

Image 2

So I dialed the 1-800 number. First try, it's busy. Second try, busy. Third try, same result, busy. 100th try, darn it still busy. I was dialing for over half an hour and when I was able to get through the only one I could talk to is a robot. Fabulous. So I listened through all the recordings and all the menus the robot was offering. I listened to every single thing so I won't miss something important.

I chose the right selections, pressed the right numbers I also keyed in my card number. After all of those, at the end, the robot will say that due to the pandemic they are prioritizing certain services only, and terminating an account isn't one of them. Wow. After all that hardships from dialing, to patiently waiting and listening to the poor quality recording, you are telling me that I have done all that for nothing? Seriously? And you are saying that I can't even talk to a single human being or representative? You have got to be f^&%ng kidding me! Trying to call them really is a nightmare.

I rested for a while because I felt that my head was about to burst in all of those frustration. I decided to just visit a branch near the office. As soon as I got there I turned back. The queue of the people waiting to be attended to is stretched unto the road. Oh hell no. I am not gonna do that. I went back to the office feeling dried up and the heat of the sun didn't help.

I resorted back to sending them emails. Yes plural. I just hope I could get this stupid task done so I won't have to talk to them anymore. Ugh. Just, ugh!!

Anyway, I really don't hate banks that much. As it is today, they are an integral part of the economy. I also have relatives and friends working in banking so I really can't hate it. I am just saying that the system it's currently implementing is rotten and it could really be improved. Their customer service for starters.

But yeah, there is a long way to go before the landscape of banking be changed.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading through this one. Yes, it is just me ranting about something I apologize for cluttering your feed with this one. I just had to let it all out. Bottling something inside is never a good thing. Well now I'm finally feeling fine. Writing this was cathartic. Anyhow, again, I am not generalizing bank tellers, I somehow feel their pain, it's not their fault they are also part of the victims in the general scheme of things.

What about you? What are your thoughts on banks? You love them? Nah, hoorah for BCH. lol


Sources:

Lead image : https://www.dreamstime.com/illustration/evil-bank.html

Image 1 : https://toughnickel.com/industries/The-Ups-and-Downs-of-Working-as-a-Bank-Teller

Image 2 : https://www.dreamstime.com/african-american-man-calling-to-bank-shopping-online-home-serious-african-american-man-holding-credit-card-calling-to-bank-image166073435

7
$ 17.99
$ 17.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @nheng1118
+ 2
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Bank, Experiences

Comments

Kawawang nilalang. Relax ka lang haha... Pero regarding sa credit card... Kahit di pala gamitin nagchacharged yun? Meron kasi asawa ko e, pinadala din nung bpi... Di din ginagamit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

icheck niyo kung meron na. At ang magaling na yun. Hanggang ngayon walang reply sa email. Di ko na alam ang gagawin eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pano ba macheck?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. D ba nakaregister sa online banking? Wala bang emailed SOA?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, i just made a little rant about banks in my previous articles, hahaha! And that notorious "We find ways"? LOL We find ways to charge you in every single thing you do. Hahaha!

The long queues are starters of a bad day, and waiting for hours just to approve a transaction is another one. I also understand the struggles the teller have everyday, but that is still not a valid reason to be rude and unwelcoming. Duh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha right?? I mean, I waited in line for more than an hour just to give some money, I was not rude, I was smiling, I am cool, at least just be decent and be courteous. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where I live there is nothing wrong with the customer service in banks, but the fact that if I deposit my money in a bank they use it and give it other borrowers. If I want to borrow larger amount they create "money" really just numbers on the computer and make it appear in my account, but when I pay it back pay with my hard earned money with interests of course. I don't like this system.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ooooh. Well, then you're lucky. Ah.. yeeep. The system sucks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They want to keep their customers of course. I actually had a very nice experience in a bank while I was waiting. They offered me a seat with some coffee. It doesn't happen often, but it was a nice touch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, it never happens here, I mean, sure, if you are depositing millions and all, but for us commoners, that will be something next to impossible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago