Short story: The Transmutation

0 6
Avatar for mc5punk
1 week ago

Today I woke up with a strange sensation, the one you experience when your senses are altered, causing a disorientation that prevents you from immediately recognizing the place where you are. My mouth tasted bitter, my vision was blurred and my body felt heavy as if it were covered by a layer of lead. Despite the pleasant weather in the room, I was slightly sweaty, and the overwhelming silence surrounding me suggested that I should have had a pleasant sleep. But it wasn't, it was quite the opposite, and that reality became clearer as I came to my senses and sought explanations for my restlessness.

I tried to make a mental effort to remember what happened while I slept, asking myself a series of questions and visualizing random images that would allow me to associate possible scenarios and characters within the dream. Suddenly, I remembered scattered fragments: the color green, plants, the sky, a bright sun, tranquility, solitude... elements that gave shape to a place. I also remembered that I could only see my hands and feet, and that I felt the imperious need to look for something, although I was not clear what it was, I knew I had to find it at any cost.

I took my first steps, and after an indefinite time, I began to explore the site. As I went deeper and deeper into the forest, I began to hear an omnipresent sound. It was deafening but soft, with a frequency that alternated between low and high notes in brief seconds, repeating constantly. My ear was alert. Once oriented, I continued on my way and, as I advanced, the sound intensified. I was alert for any eventuality, until in the distance, I saw a creature moving back and forth, slowly and awkwardly.

Finding what I felt I should be looking for, I started running towards the strange creature. As I got closer, I realized that it was some sort of bird, although its features were unusual: it had a head the size of a soccer and legs twice the length of an average human's. The most peculiar thing was its body, which had the size of a bird. Most peculiar was its body, which was far from conventional, formed by an endlessly rotating spiral, mesmerizing to stare at.

The animal behaved calmly, unafraid of my presence, even seeming to invite me to come closer. It watched me intently, and suddenly, the sound stopped. There was no more noise, there was no one else, just the two of us. That instilled confidence in me, but also expectation for what was about to happen, because inside me I knew I had to do something, and that something was pushing me to not only observe the vortex of bright and strong colors.

Hypnosis got the better of me. I could not think, I just stared, revealing to me indescribable things, elements never seen before that filled me with uneasiness. Everything was beautiful and fascinating, a whole new world I wanted to explore. And so, I decided to act, I raised my hand and touched with my fingers that spiral body, that portal that would lead me to an unknown place.

I entered little by little, in spite of my nerves, and at that moment, my body and my consciousness began to change radically, as if my whole being became unaligned and adopted a new form.

Thus began my transmutation, a process that took me from darkness to light.

Source of the images.

Image created with Bing.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
1 week ago

Comments