Short Story: The Rookie

0 14
Avatar for mc5punk
1 month ago

Lucia is a young journalism student who is doing her internship at a prestigious newspaper in the city. She is walking through the streets when she suddenly notices an accident, which seems to her a perfect opportunity to write a report to be published as soon as possible in the paper.

As she approaches the scene, she decides to try to find someone who can tell her what happened, but, apart from those directly involved in the incident, there was only a girl who was just at the entrance of a commercial establishment. Lucia immediately said to her: "Hello:

-Hi. Sorry to bother you but I wanted to know if you have any idea of what has happened and if so could you please tell me about it.

The girl answers:

-Of course I do.

-Thank you. What is your name?

-Maria.

-Maria, tell me what just happened in this place. -What exactly happened?

-Well, it turns out that I was doing my nails because I had nothing to do inside the store since there were no customers, and while I was applying nail polish, unexpectedly I heard a loud noise that surprised me, so much that I felt like I was having a heart attack, and a few seconds later I realized what happened, so I decided to go out to see more details, since the store window was a little dirty and did not let me see more clearly.

-And what exactly happened?

-It seems that the vehicle was coming at high speed and in the opposite direction along this street, so it ran over the hot dog stand of the vendor who usually passes by here every afternoon. And since the vendor is an old man, he didn't have time to get out of the way in time to let the car pass.

-Were you able to record what happened right away? The license plate of the vehicle?

-I was planning to do it, but it turns out that I still don't know how to use my phone, that's because I just bought it yesterday.

-Thank you very much for everything - and they say goodbye to each other.

Lucia, having everything ready and having taken some pictures of what happened, feels ready to present the report to her boss.

Inside the office and having read everything received, the boss looks at her with indignation for the shoddy report that has been shown, so he tears up the sheets and sends Lucia back to the street to bring something more elaborate and important.

The young woman with her spirits on the floor slowly leaves the place and regrets not having done something better, something that would have avoided being exposed to such a rude treatment and made her feel like an idiot, more before the one who in addition to being her boss is also her uncle.

Source of the images

Image created with starryai

1
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
1 month ago

Comments