Short story: Struggling in the darkness

0 32
Avatar for mc5punk
1 month ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

In the middle of the darkness stands a humanoid-looking creature, whose appearance was a disturbing mix between human and goat, which made me feel an uncomfortable sensation in my stomach. The only source of light came from a small projection that dimly illuminated the being, allowing me to see its grotesque features.

As for me, I could only see my hands, which were positioned on the creature's neck to choke it with enormous force, causing its tongue to hang out of its mouth while it made no sound. Despite the agony it was experiencing, it did not whimper or struggle, giving me more motivation to want to squeeze it with all my might and take great pleasure in watching it choke it even though nothing could be heard.

A voice echoed in my mind, whispering words that seemed to come from deep within me. "You will not fight," the voice said, "for that battle will be taken care of by God." I felt invaded by a supernatural peace, as if a divine force was present in that dark and terrifying moment.

The certainty of those words invaded me. I stopped debating, stopped struggling. I accepted my fate, trusting that there was a purpose beyond my comprehension.

At that precise moment, I awoke from my strange dream. My body was covered in sweat and my heart was pounding. I held my hand to my chest, trying to catch my breath and taking in what I had just experienced.

Although it had only been a dream, I felt a strange connection to the message I had received. Perhaps there was something beyond the darkness and suffering, something that transcended our human limitations. A certainty came over me: no matter how hard the battle, there will always be a higher force that will guide us and give us the peace we long for.

Image source

Image created with Starryai.

1
$ 0.54
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
1 month ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Comments