Short story: Renewal

0 4
Avatar for mc5punk
1 week ago

There I was, immersed in the contemplation of that sterile tree, with its bare branches and parched bark. Looking at it closely, just a few centimeters from me, I was overcome by a feeling of desolation and imminent end, as if death itself had materialized in front of me to announce that it was all over, that the time had come to embark on a journey of no return. And, after all, it did not seem such a crazy idea, since I was aware that this farm was no longer what it had been in the past, that the good harvests had ceased long ago, that the weather had become my adversary and that the loneliness that enveloped me was my only company, since I had no relatives to take care of these matters and no economic resources to hire day laborers.

I am a middle-aged man, without a wife or descendants. My parents left us some years ago, after a long life, leaving me the responsibility of everything you see. Although I have not yet reached that stage of existence when body and mind decline, I feel equally burdened, as it were: hunger and adversity have been stronger than I am. I find myself alone in the face of this discouraging panorama.

This tree was witness and emblem of what once meant the birth and prosperity of the hacienda, for both arose simultaneously. It was planted just as the property was acquired. Now, it has ceased to be the heart of this fading place as well.

On numerous occasions, I have contemplated the idea of ending my existence, but no, I have not wanted to succumb to that thought, and now less than ever, as a buyer interested in acquiring it has appeared. We have had several conversations, but I had not made a final decision, believing that I could make a greater profit from the sale, which did not turn out to be the case, as my business skills and conditions do not provide me with any advantage. The buyer had prevailed in the negotiation and took everything at a bargain price.

With the little I got, it will be enough for me to subsist for a while without luxuries and comforts. At least I can buy time until I can find a way to get a job.

Now, I remain here, observing this tree of withered fruit. I compare the present with that glorious yesterday and I think it is best to leave it all behind to start over.

Source of the images.

Image created with Bing.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from Anonymous user(s)
A
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
1 week ago

Comments