Short Story: Hypnotic Colors

0 14
Avatar for mc5punk
4 weeks ago

Right at the window a butterfly has just landed on the glass, I just see it standing there while it lightly moves its wings of fantastic colors. I find it fascinating but at the same time I keep feeling discouraged. Today has been a quiet day, so much so that silence reigns in the streets and the sun shines brightly. I don't feel like leaving my room, I just want to be in this little shelter to pass the time without doing anything. I am content with what I see: the butterfly of fantastic colors.

At that moment there is a knock on my bedroom door and I give permission for them to enter. It is my brother, who is carrying a ginger tea in his hands on my mother's orders to give it to me. I tell him that I left it on the table, that I will drink it later, to which he agrees to my request. But as I put the cup down, he suddenly asks me a question:

-Did you know what happened?

-About what?

-About the Orion spacecraft.

-What happened?

-I explode.

-What?!

-Yes. It exploded as soon as it was about to leave the Earth's crust...It blew up into a thousand pieces.

-Wow... too bad.

-Yeah, too bad. Things happen... Well, I'm off, I have to go to the boys' house to play video games. Bye!

Without another word he leaves and I'm left in my room all alone, thinking about the misfortune that has just happened. Or so I think. I don't even know what to think anymore. Maybe it's just an excuse on my part to continue justifying my apathy. I just want this day to end. I don't care about anything. I hope the night comes quickly and I can immerse myself in the world of dreams and then wake up and start a new and better day. In the meantime I continue to stare at this butterfly of fantastic colors.

Image source

Image created with Starryai.

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
4 weeks ago

Comments