Short story: For my dear Anais

0 12
Avatar for mc5punk
3 weeks ago

Paris, May 1st, 1900

Dear Anais,

It has been fifteen days since my footsteps echoed on the cobblestones of this city of lights, fifteen nights since the moon of Paris has been my only confidant. My uncle, whom I had long ceased to see, has opened the doors of his home to me, a warm refuge in the heart of this vibrant metropolis. His wife, a lady with a gentle smile, and his children, full of life and laughter, have been my family in this new chapter of my life.

Every day, as I search for a job that will allow me to bring you to my side, I lose myself in the charms of Paris. Unlike our beloved Lyon, with its simplicity and calm, Paris is a whirlwind of sensations, a melting pot of architecture, commerce and, above all, culture. The city pulsates with an energy that knows no rest, not even when the sun sets behind the horizon.

Evenings here have a special flavor, Anais. Restaurants and theaters open their doors to seekers of pleasure and wonder, like the famous Moulin Rouge, which displays its lights and colors in a spectacle like no other. And in the midst of all this hustle and bustle, the Universal Exposition stands as a beacon of progress, showing the world the advances of our era. The moving images of the Lumière brothers have taken my breath away, as if, for an instant, I could feel you beside me, sharing in the amazement.

How I wish you were here, Anais! Together, we would marvel at every discovery, every corner of this city that seems to have no end. I imagine your wonder, your blue eyes reflecting the grandeur of Paris, and I feel a pang of melancholy at not being able to share it with you.

I miss, more than words can express, your radiant smile, your golden hair shining like the sun itself, and the sweetness of your questions, always so innocent and full of affection. In my dreams, I embrace you, and your lips merge with mine in a kiss that promises eternity.

I know that soon I will find the job I am looking for, and then, my beloved, I will be able to bring you to Paris. Together, we will build our own world, a love nest where every day will be a testimony of our affection.

Until that day comes, I cling to the hope of your answer, to the certainty that our reunion is ever closer.

Forever yours, with all the love my heart can hold,

Eugene.

Image source

Image created with Starryai.

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
3 weeks ago

Comments