Short Story: Addiction and Overcoming

0 9
Avatar for mc5punk
3 weeks ago

A new day dawns and I find myself facing the invariable routine. At 20 years old, I spend every moment glued to my smartphone, that portal to the virtual world that keeps me abreast of every update on my social networks. Messages from those I consider "friends" flood my screen, virtual friends that have gradually overshadowed the real ones, those with whom I used to share my life.

One day, I realized that the joy of the activities that used to fulfill me had faded. My friends and family would tell me how much they missed me, but I, caught in this web of digital connections, could not let go. Loneliness began to weigh on my spirits and sadness nestled in my heart. I recognized that I had developed a social media addiction, one that was eroding my life.

Suicidal thoughts and feelings began to haunt my mind, and I found myself at a loss, not knowing how to deal with them. Fear of revealing my torment kept me silent, hiding my pain from everyone. However, the despair inside me was growing.

So I decided to seek help. Surfing the Internet, I found professionals and places that could guide me; I chose a psychologist with extensive experience and knowledge in addictions. He recommended a support group for people with problems similar to mine. Finally, I had found a safe place where I could talk about my feelings and hear stories that resonated with my own.

Over time, I began to heal. My phone, once my constant companion, now had a less prominent place in my life. I became more involved with friends and family in the real world. Although suicidal thoughts sometimes frightened me, I was learning to manage them and seek support when I needed it.

I discovered that my life was full of possibilities and that there were many people who loved and cared about me. My addiction to social media had made me forget those ties, but now I was striving to find a healthy balance. This experience taught me valuable lessons about the power of social media and how it can affect our mental health.

Image source

Image created with Starryai.

1
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
3 weeks ago

Comments