My introduction to the world of GNU / Linux and my current situation

6 28
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Greetings again my dear friends of the community, this time I come to present a topic that may be somewhat unknown to many and that is because of the hegemony that has a large company in the area of computers, and I mean Microsoft with its famous operating system in various presentations, Windows. Well it turns out that this is the one that has the largest share in the market as in home computers and laptops and this has made other alternatives are overshadowed by this situation, that is why I will expose one of these and is the one I use on my computer, it is GNU / Linux, another operating system like Windows but open source and can be modified to suit the same user as long as you know how to manipulate it, but still this is not an impediment for those who only want or are basic users and perform routine tasks, such as surfing the Internet, watch movies, listen to music, play video games, etc..

I got to know about this project was thanks to a cousin who helped me with the purchase of a computer and I got to install it with the help of a friend of hers, but once I started to review it seemed something normal and unremarkable, since I had no knowledge about this and less that I did not have Internet service at home to download programs, make updates and / or search for information that would allow me to enter fully into this world. I only got to use it on a few occasions for the above mentioned, besides that on the other hand I had the pressure of my brothers to delete it from the computer because they were used to Windows XP (at that time), and argued that it was much better designed so it was more pleasing to the eye, and I must say that the Linux distribution I had was Ubuntu with Gnome desktop, if I had known that there were other desktops I would have changed it.

Some time later I started when I already had Internet in my house and having a computer for myself I realized that the Canonical company, the same that created the Ubuntu distribution, gave to all people who requested a CD to them the operating system totally free and they also sent it by mail to the house; so I immediately started to request one, but as I was still not very clear about the different distributions and styles of desktops that existed I chose Ubuntu 9.10 with Mate desktop (if I remember correctly). Once I had done all the above I just had to wait for it to arrive to my house. Several months passed and I was already forgetting about the whole CD thing, and unexpectedly there was a knock at my door and when I saw who it was it turned out to be a letter carrier with a blank envelope with a note mentioning that it was from Canonical, I was very excited, but when I had the CD in my hands I felt as if I had been given a Christmas present.

Already after installing it on my computer I started to get familiar with this great program; so I had the idea of requesting another disk, so I told myself that if I was going to ask for another disk that it would be another distribution, so the chosen one this time was Kubuntu, in its 10.04 edition with a support in updates for several years. And after placing the order I received it in the same way as the previous one.

As of today I have used several Linux distributions, among which are Elementary OS, Manjaro, Fedora, Linux Mint... and this last one is the one I am currently using.

Linux Mint 19.03 with XFCE desktop has been the version that I have been able to install on my laptop, being this the best for it because it does not present any problem and is much better than any version of Windows because it consumes very little RAM, so it allows me to perform multiple tasks without paralyzing the computer. I must also clarify that I have not been able to go for the new updates of Linux Mint and it is because the processing of my laptop is 32 bits, and as we know these machines are obsolete and only continue to be used in countries considered underdeveloped or the so-called "third world".

Screenshot from my computer.

In case you want to know the characteristics of my computer are the following:

Screen resolution: 1280x800.

CPU: Genuine Intel T2060 @ 2x 1.6GHz.

RAM memory: 1933MiB.

Amazing that this machine can still work, isn't it?

As for you, how were your beginnings in the world of GNU/Linux, which distribution do you use, did you find it easy to learn everything or did you learn the basics? I consider myself a basic user, I use it because it is easy to use the version I currently have and has not presented me with any problems.

I hope this publication has been very useful and interesting for you. I send you a big hug. See you next time.

Note: all images (with the exception of the screenshot) were taken with my Amazon Fire 7 tablet.

Image source Lead:

https://socialgeek.co/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Logo-Linux.jpg

5
$ 0.87
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Niazi420
+ 1
Sponsors of mc5punk
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mc5punk
2 years ago

Comments

Why didn't you install the Linux directly from the window? A few days ago, I was also introduced to this and now I have the project on Ubuntu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From a window? If you mean the installation in graphical mode, yes I have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I haven't tried to use a personal computer, this Linux is new to me, thanks and I get a chance to know about this world of Linux..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try it, you will see that it will be very good for you and you will learn new things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to read about how you got familiar with the world of Linux. It's so universal, that many computers can run it, even those lower in resources. Are you still using it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm still using Linux on my low-resource machine, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago