Clouds - Flash-Fiction Challenge

10 37
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

It was the last day of summer vacation, I went to the cliff where I usually scan for clouds during the day. I was really fond with the place since my grandparent’s home were away from the city, peacefully residing in the countryside. It was the perfect place to let my thoughts run free and have fun making out the clouds on what things they would seem to appear until today,

 Since childhood, they seem to depict what would happen in the future, foreshadowing things that is connected to the events in my life. Every time I grew older, it became nearly difficult to decipher as they seem to be more disturbing than the last one.

Today, I saw a skull, formed by the clouds. I was instantly freaked out, and immediately went back to my old folks’ home, trying not to think about the disturbing intuition I’m having. The shivers of anxiety didn’t leave me alone even after we went home, my parents were terribly worried as I was really pale in my current state. Seeing the symbol of death, is never healthy for the mind.

“Mom, Dad, please don’t go to work tomorrow.” I tried to warn them but they just shrugged it with, “You’re just tired, son. Get some rest.” I only pray that we would still be alive when the year ends. They would never believe me anyways. They’re one hell of a skeptic type of people.

I texted my girlfriend when I got to bed. The signal was too messy back there to ever get a decent conversation, it would have been really helpful if I had talked to her then. She comforted me and telling it was just childhood shenanigans, and it was really funny to see clouds predict the future. I just went on with her playful banter, teasing me to cheer me up.

“Love, tell me, If I die in my sleep what would you do?”

“Don’t say things like that please, I’d mourn obviously. Even Roger would shed a tear for you. HAHAHA.”

I just laughed when she mentioned Roger, he was our classmate that really seemed to show no emotions and often made fun of, I hope the guy found his peace of mind over the course of summer.

“If you’re not that feeling well, you should just skip school tomorrow.” And that, I decided I won’t.

Oh, how I wish I could hug her right now like it’s the last, she truly understands me.

---------------------

I woke up to the loud bang on my bedroom door late in the afternoon, with my parents crying and hugging me. “We’re so glad you’re safe.” They said.

I was perplexed and asked what happened, and my mom replied, “There was a shooting in your school, killing everyone in your class and everyone he’s confronted, before the shooter-“ She paused, sobbing, “your classmate killed himself.”

Tears start to fall in my very eyes, and asked what was his name.

His name was “Roger.”

-Marcmire

Thanks for inviting me to the challenge, @Feebie. That prompt gave me the luxury to compose about a new idea to write with.

I seriously don't know if this is still a flash fiction or nah, but either way, thanks for the prompt. :D Hope you have a good day ahead.

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Comments

Awwwn, poor roger. He must have been going through alot😔. Thanks for your entry...this was a nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, I appreciate it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OnO so shocking a plot twist- but then clouds really was used for predictions back then

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess the superstitious things don't die out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, there's even some tribes that do cloud reading still. It's cool but really don't seem reliable

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all may girlfriend hahah charr😂 but seriously gosh the twist shocked me, i really imagined the scene and characters as in anime and it was great👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga. You have a wild imagination hahaha 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What does wild imagination supposed to mean hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Active pala, hindi wild hahahaha. Gad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah am laughing😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago