Self motivation :: Self debates

20 30
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

To write or not to write? To cook or not to cook? To mop or not to mop? To draw or not to draw?

A constant debate I have with myself. Questions I ask before deciding to do something. Sometimes, no question is asked. I will just do it if the feeling is right.

If for example, my mind and tummy is craving for an omelette, I will start cooking, no matter how busy I am, just because the feeling is right. The feeling of wanting to eat an omelette.

When there is no mood, there is no mood. Nothing comes, no motivation, nothing. And this happens mostly with writing, with sewing, things that requires the creative part of the brain to work.

It is usually the case of creative possibly soon (cps) situations where projects are put on hold, sometimes for months, like how writers might have writer's block, artists not finding their muse.

With chores, though, even when the feeling is not there, the obligation part of the brain kicks in. I used to work chores like a regime, wake up at six in the morning, and sweep and mop after breakfast, before going for classes, or for work. But I have learnt to let go of this regime, not entirely but partially.

Self motivation is not easy but if we train ourselves, it might just work. Maybe not everyday but as much as we can. Sometimes, we just need things to be aligned - the mood, the need - and it may help after laughing out loud or singing out loud, when the mind is free from worries, just for a short while, is all it takes, to get things moving.


Timer set: 10 minutes but the writing took 15 minutes

Timer: mobile phone

Translator: none

Grammar tool/s: none

Writing device: laptop

Lead image: by Eaters Collective on Unsplash


Topic: Self-motivation

Words to use: cooking - laughing out loud - cps

Your post can be submitted to the community Self-motivation (freewriting)


9
$ 0.29
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same haha. I do things when the feeling is right. When it comes to writing, ideas are usually overflowing in my mind but I don't write it until the feeling is right lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha the dilemma. Sometimes I have ideas when I do not have the time to write, example I am cooking or cleaning or working but when I finally have the time to write, nothing comes!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great motivation....

Hey dear subscribed u know, sub back plz 😊......

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol it's funny the way you timed yourself,this way you'll really become better and start writing faster and effectively....but writer's block indeed happens to everyone and you don't just know what to write

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends :D Sometimes I would be staring at the screen and looking at the prompt but nothing comes. Zilch! Haha. Its just one of those mood things. When it comes, it comes. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes it happens when you have doubt and lazyness feeling...not feeling well to move and something in your mind that you dont understand..theres always a reason nit to do the thing..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true. When that happens, it is best to leave it and come back to it the next day or when we feel better (sometimes months :D).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It happens to me very often that I get blocked and nothing to write comes to mind.

Then I cheer up and say to myself ... if this happens even to the best writers, what can I say? go ahead, keep waiting for the next idea to write.

The good thing in my case when it comes to cleaning and arranging and organizing, I have the advantage that a lady helps me. It comes every business day. Only she needs help with food and with that I always help her and she helps me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How nice to have someone helping you with chores. Do you need to pay for her service? Yes, when nothing comes to mind, it really is hard to write anything. And we need energy too. Sometimes the mind and body is too tired to do anything. Sleep would be the best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She needs me to help her with food and so I help her with her food and she helps me with her services.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah that works well for the both you :) A barter trade.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So is!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The older I get the more frequently I kick my own ass. In the end, I am happy with it, happy I did something I can call valuable to me it's just I wish those debates about it weren't necessary. If I was only raised differently, was a superhuman. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, kicking our own asses is quite a thing as we get older, because we get quite good at it :D Yes, I think even lying down, not wanting to do anything is quite valuable to a certain extent :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am thinking about giving up on that as soon as possible. There are too many things I was and am forced to do on a daily base and most don't even concern me personally. I can't wait to sit in my chair and do nothing except naps and watching people passing by, being busy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I quite enjoy that part too :) I used to have a regimented schedule for cleaning when I was younger because it was expected of me. But now, I do when I feel like it. I just need to beat the voice in my head.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That voice in the head is the worst but I ignore it now. It's better for me and the environment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I try to ignore most times but it is hard. I was successful sometimes. I agree.. giving ourselves that break is better for us and the environment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago