Popping some corn (kernels)!

30 38
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

You know those little white, sometimes yellowish and brown flaky, sweet aroma, crunchy and soft at the same bite puffs? Yup, popcorn! Ooo I really enjoy having them while watching a movie. However, most would say that store bought popcorn is not healthy because of the excess sugar and sodium that comes with it (and whatever else they add into them), to make them tasty for our palette. But if we make them ourselves, it should be healthier?

Recently, I started craving for these little puffs, especially since cinemas have been closed for a long while. I browsed around and found homemade popcorn recipes. Some recipes asked to pop the corn kernels at the stove and separately melt sugar to create the caramel sauce, and then coat the popcorn before putting them into the oven to bake. Some shared recipes that looked simple enough but bland looking, while some were simple yet complicated at the same time, to a point that I didn't want to look at the recipes. It seemed like too much work and I wanted to keep it simple.

My head started imagining the taste that I like, and the mind started thinking of popping them this way. I bought a packet of corn kernels and decided to pop them! I was not sure how to do it but I just wanted to pop some corn! And this was how I popped them:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons of corn kernels.

  • 1 tablespoon of coconut oil (this adds a soft tinge of aroma to the end result).

  • 1 tablespoon of honey (I was thinking honey should be a healthier option? :)

  • A pot with lid:

    • a size big enough to hold the potentially popped corn (for 2 tablespoons of corn kernels, I used a 16cm saucepan).

    • better to have one that is easy to wash surface because once we add honey or some sort of sweets, it will get messy.

    • a lid is absolutely important to prevent accidental explosion of any kind.

Here are the steps...

Step 1 - Place the corn kernels into a pot.

  • Mix the oil and honey to make sure the corn kernels are nicely coated.

Step 2 - Cover the pot with its lid and place the pot on low to medium heat.

Step 3 - Wait and shake the pot a little, every now and then, to move the corn kernels to get the heat evenly spread across and to avoid them getting burn.

Step 4 - After 10 minutes, maybe 12 or 15, depending on the fire, the corn kernels will start to pop! It was quite exhilarating :)

Notice the remnants of explosion on the lid? Imagine doing this without a lid :D

I read in some recipes that if we keep the heat low, we should be able to get all the kernels popped without them getting burnt. Mine was a little burnt because I got impatient which I don't mind because I like them slightly crunchy and burnt too.

After the explosions have stopped, we can open the lid and add more honey if needed.

Aahh.. my "healthy" popcorn (I would like to think so :D)


Do you pop your own corn? How do you pop them? :)


All photos were taken using my mobile phone, resized and added watermark using Canva.


28
$ 0.58
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

That tasty! I like popcorn.

My son and I did it, on a movie afternoon or for a night.

Personally, I don't like sweet popcorn. My son and I like salty popcorn.

We prepare it in a pot with a lid. We cover the bottom with the grains and I add two or three tablespoons of salted water. and over moderate heat. From time to time I shake the pot so that the ganos do not burn. and wait for the last grains to explode. And ready!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest I am not crazy about popcorn neither are my children. We never bought it if we went to the cinema (we take chocolate along with us) and at home we do not eat it either. We can watch films for hours without snacking.

I made popcorn (still have the kernels) and it's quiet easy. Oil in the pan, add the kernels, lid on it and wait till the popping is over. After that a bit butter (real one) or salt only (indeed salt we do not like the sweet popcorn).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I somehow knew you would say that :) (the first paragraph)

Ah... you add salt or butter at the end of it. Interesting. I love cheese too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knew you knew that's why I skipped the part bout honey. 😄

I like the taste of butter (real not margarine) and salt. Same if it comes to rice. Butter on pancakes, waffles or toast read I consider as a treat too. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waaah! Reading this makes me crave for popcorns too! I've been thinking about buying corn kernels last week and eventually forgot about it. I prefer my popcorns with a cheese though 🤤😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oooo yes cheese!! You must buy and pop them with cheese! I am wondering about this cheese powder. I haven't seen cheese powder. @Jane mentioned it too. Cheese sauce yes, usually quite dark yellow. The one they drizzle on potato wedges.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the cheese powder that we also use on ready-to-cook french fries. And as for cheese sauce, we usually use it for breads 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are it with pieces of cheese or add cheese to it? I love cheese 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I add cheese powder to it. Usually we use salt but it tastes better with cheese powder. Now you just gave me an idea, I might try to add pieces of cheese next time. I also love cheese! 😍😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheese powder? I keep that in mind. I should eat more cheese.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love cheese toooO! Slurrppppp.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheeeese are the best! 🤩😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very important informative article dear friend . Everybody should read this article .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. May I know which part is important and which part is informative?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow popcorn yummy i love it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes they are yummy :) Do you make them yourself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh popcorn :"" i just buy the korn kettle ones, too lazy to cook those kernels at times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah... are they pre-popped in a bag like chips? I have not tried korn kettle but I have seen them in supermarkets.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, those ones! They're good and it's close enough to the ones they sell at the theater but without tiring yourself from shaking a pot so much 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah.. not that much of shaking. Just a bit :D Ah.. one day I shall try the kettle ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was taught that it needed to be shaken a lot 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh hahah.. I read the ones in the bag that goes into the microwave will need a whole lotta shaking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh, i but those a lot and i don't recall ever needing to shake those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks yummy. 🤤🤤 i tried that before too. I just buy corn kernels then cooked at home. Kids loves it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was yummy! Ah same method too? I was thinking about sprinkling sugar at first but I wasn't sure how the heat will react to it. May be bigger explosion and stickier mess :D

Oh yes, a hit with the kids and adults too! :) Or maybe kids at heart :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup same method. And same with, i was impatient too so some got burnt. 😂 try to buy cheese powder and sprinkle it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. next time, I shall try smaller fire.

Ooo cheese powder! Yumm... Parmesan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Any cheese powder.haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheese powder... I know cheese sauce but haven't seen cheese powder except parmesan which we sprinkle on our pizza in Pizza Hut. Is that the one? :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try parmesan cheese.hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago