Paper Craft :: Simple Greeting Cards

13 25
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Back in the days, before technology boomed on us, I remembered how my friends and I, we used to send each other greeting cards for birthdays, festivities, when someone was ill or to wish each other luck for exams. Nowadays, digital cards can be found online and sending e-cards seem to be a better and easier option for the environment too.

My family however, we still go by the traditional cards, mostly for birthdays, because we feel they are far meaningful than digital ones. There is something about being able to hold a physical card with hand written messages and being able to keep them for years to come, to cherish the memories as we read them again.

We would go to a bookstore to find a card but nice cards are harder to find these days. On some occasions, I would make my own, just a simple one, nothing fancy, with the limited art supplies that I have.

With a fancy-ish looking card paper as the outer layer, I folded to half neatly, just the size of half an A4 size paper. I chose another paper, white-ish, blue-ish, gray-ish coloured as the inner layer.

It was a birthday card for my brother and I chose to draw some love balloons with colour pencils.

For the inner layer, I applied a thin layer of glue at the outer side of the fold and stick it into the middle of the inner side of the outer layer. I drew some fishes and 2 shrimps for the fun of it before writing my message inside.

And then, it was ready :)



8
$ 0.13
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

With us you can still buy cards. Not only at bookshops but supermarkets and other shops sell them too. Most are ugly and very expensive (5 euro or more). I agree it is nice to receive some real mail a card or letter once in a while. My letterbox is mainly empty. One bill once a month the rest goes by email. I like the card with the inner layer. Never thought about it. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was very pretty on you. With personal details.

I liked those times when I went out with my friends to look for gift cards !!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. Yes it is fun to look for gift cards. But there are not many shops that sell cards anymore since mostly send e-cards. Do you still send cards to your family and friends?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before the disaster in my country and now the pandemic, you could still buy gift cards. But now a song sent by WhatsApp and a card is easier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is nice. There's nothing more loving than a handmade gift card. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right? :) I love receiving handmade gifts and I hope others feel it too when I make for them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh cuteee! I used to love making those. My mom even bought a book about card making when i was a kid just to kerp me busy for hours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes yes.. I got some books too. There was one with pop-up cards. I have to go find that book.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The one i have has pop up cards in... 3 ways, i think? I haven't seen that book in a while now so I'm not sure how many pop ups it had

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gosh.. you reply so fast! You have super fast fingers :) Oh it has a number of pop up ways? I didn't notice that. Hope to find it soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not fast, i just happened to be around when you replied XD and yeah, there was the traditional pop up style used in books then that huge floating pop up then a layered kind. I was sure there was more styles but i forgot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cuteeee. I remember making those DIY greeting cards when I was a kid too and give it to my teachers. Those we're the days 💭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yes... I remembered for me, we had to make cards for teachers during class but it was good fun :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago