Paper Craft :: Little Puffy Stars

6 26
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Most call these Lucky Stars and I call them Little Puffy Stars. I do not know if they are truly lucky but I do know that making them is quite therapeutic and giving them away as gifts to those who are looking for a glimmer of luck makes me happy.

These stars have been around for a long time and I remember making them in school from friends. Nowadays, we can find many tutorials that are available in the internet. It is a form of origami and here is an example of a pretty good tutorial: https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/make-origami-lucky-stars-4107161

The material and tool needed for these stars are very straight forward - just strips of paper and our good ol' hands.

There are shops that sell the strips as ready made ones such as these: https://www.amazon.com/origami-star-paper/s?k=origami+star+paper

Or we can also choose to do our part for Mother Nature by using old magazines.

A standard A4 size paper or smaller is sufficient. Too short a strip would make the star quite thin and it might not puff up nicely. Too long a strip would make the star too thick to be puffed up.

By folding the paper first into half, it is easier to measure about 1 cm and cut the strips.

I wanted the purple colour to be visible for my stars and I will make the stars with the purple parts at the end.

For each strip, I first flatten a knot.

And folded the stars by following the sides, one at a time.

Then, gently tuck in the end of the strip into one of the folds.

With both hands, gently squeeze the opposite sides to puff up and form the star and continue to do for every corner.

And a star will be born.

To further do our part for Mother Nature, we can use empty bottles. If there are labels, we can soak them in water first until the labels come out by themselves.

Place the stars inside little bottles and we can give them away as cherished gifts or keep them as decor.


If you have any craft stories to share, I would like to invite you to join the CraftWorks Community!

All photos were taken using my iPhone mobile phone.



6
$ 0.12
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Wonderful craft

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The last photos didn't load with me so it's still a miracle to me how you fold those puffy starts but they are way smaller than I expected as I saw the first photo.

Great you did something for mother nature and used that guy's head. 😁🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) It took me a while to realise what guy's head were you referring to hehe. Ah yes, the first puffy stars batch were a different batch from the last photos. The ones made with the magazines were shown in the last photos.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

👍 and a great weekend to you 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you <3 A great Sunday to you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago