O' Potato...

21 34
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

It took a long while for these babies to sprout. I followed @gertu13 's suggestion to place the potato in the fridge. At room temperature, the potatoes go bad due to the humidity but in the fridge, they last quite long and if it works out, they would sprout too.

We love potatoes and we have a grand wish to be able to harvest loads of potatoes but with the limited space that we have, a small harvest will do :)

I think we bought the Russett potato variety and left them in the fridge for months now. We thought perhaps it is time to plant it, especially since we managed to clear one of the bigger pots from the weed mint plant.

The potato is said to be a good source of vitamins C and B6, potassium, fiber and carbohydrate which provides many levels of benefits to health from heart health to digestion to cancer and metabolism (source 1, source 2).

We placed the potato and its babies into the soil and within a few days or a week, we see greens appearing.

And it keeps growing, day by day...

I took a shot every other day and it is growing quite fast upwards.

I am wondering how is it looking underneath the soil but we will be leaving it for a while before we dig to see.

The leaves look really good and I wonder if we can cook them too. Most sources say the leaves are not edible (source) due to its possible high Solanine content which can lead to Solanine poisoning, although it is possible to eat sweet potato leaves, not the usual potato leaves.

I guess we will leave the leaves for now and wait to harvest. Few months perhaps?

Here's a top down view.

And a bottom up view.

O' potato, potato, we patiently wait for you.


All photos were taken using my iPhone 6, close-up and at different angles, by placing half of the phone into the pot.


6
$ 2.95
$ 2.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I wonder what the plant looks like now. Does it bear potato already?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, sorry, I missed your comment. Guess what, the potato disappeared sadly. I think the soil had some pests that ate them all up. Oh well, will try again someday :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article my dear i have subscribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How would you kmow if the potato is ready. for harvest or not? I've been hoping to plant potatoes in my garden too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good question. I have no idea :D. Guess what, I am asking @gertu13 hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The harvest takes place in several months. two or three months. The plant is getting damaged. It starts to turn yellow and then you know there is a harvest.

You can also remove potatoes before the plant dies, but at first it is better to wait for your plant to begin to dry after two months.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aahh.. okay @gertu13. Thank you! I shall wait for that. It is the same with garlic too right? When they start to turn yellow, it is time to harvest?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, that is also true with garlic. But I eat the garlic branches. I never wait for them to die. I cut them up and add to soups or stews. On the other hand, the potato plant is toxic, it is not consumed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am interesting. We keep potatoes in the dark, covered by a newspaper in the basement or shed or another dark place. I am not fond of it and to me, it's not worth planting them. Most likely they would have potato rot anyway.

Happy eating/baking/frying.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh interesting. You keep them in the dark so that they last longer or to sprout them?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dark and cool is whatcellars are. That is how food is keptin a good condition

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I missed you friend. How beautiful are your plants. You should put more soil on the plants as they grow. Have a great harvest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. I've been away again. Mind distracted with other matters. Ah more soil? Okay, okay. We shall find more soil :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will always be very good to see you again. Yes, you have to add soil to the pot as the plant grows.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @gertu13 <3. Okay, one silly question.. how do we know if it is time to harvest? :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No dumb questions friend. But if there are nonsense made by not asking hehee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh its suitable in pots.? How many potatoes can it produce in that single pot.? 🤔 Lets see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would better in a biiiiiggggggeeeeerrrrr pot but that was all I have :D Yah, lets see hehe. Thanks for popping by @Xzeon :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Next time,make potato recipe 😊 I love the potatoes with butter and just seasoned with salt and pepper.. Its really yummy and simple

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oooo... yummm.. I usually add potato into a dish, not so much a dish by itself. Your recipe sounds yummy :) I will give it a try some day. Thank you for your suggestion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should.. It's just frying the chunks of potatoes using butter, some are adding carrots into it to give some colors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago