Nothing is truly free

17 51
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

“Look ma! There is a buy 1 free 1 promo!” A teenage girl exclaimed excitedly to her mother while pointing to the display card. Two packets of Hershey’s chocolate chips for the price of one.  Looked like a good deal, maybe a little too good to be true. “Calm down young lady. Check the expiration date first” the mother reminded her daughter. True enough, the expiration date was due soon, in two month’s time. “But ma, we can finish way before that!” the girl said happily. That would mean twice the chocolate content into the body within the same period of time. Would that be a good free purchase?

When we think about it, there are many things that we come across in our potential purchases, in our daily life that is said to be free. But are they truly free or if they are truly free, are they good for us? If they sound too good to be true, most times they are.

In cases when there is a buy 1, free 1 offer, in most cases, but not always, it would be because that the items are due for expiration, or another possibility is that there is too much in stock that they needed to clear or maybe the items have slight manufacturing defect or rejected items that can still be used.

I am a skeptic when it comes to free stuffs but I am also a sucker too to believe them unknowingly until it was too late. I do not deny though, there are rare genuine ones who would give out free stuffs because they want to reward their clients such as the family restaurant that we dine-in often. There are cases whereby a shop that has just opened its doors or just renovated, as part of their marketing cost, they would include free gifts to increase their market share, to entice customers to come or it could also be part of their loyalty program cost to keep old customers.

Sometimes, well, more often nowadays, we receive emails or a text message that says “Congratulations! Here is a free gift for you. Click here to claim your gift!”. Emails such as these should spell danger for all of us. It is a click bait, it is phishing and if we get too excited and click the link given, the moment we click, we would open our doors wide for thieves who are out there to take advantage of our online personal data and belongings for their personal gain. By the time we realize it, it would have been too late. In this case, free comes with a huge price.

In cases when free gifts are given with a purchase, the question I always forget to ask myself is do I need this item? Is it worth the money I spend? Many times, I was fooled by the notion of purchase above a certain amount to receive a free gift but sellers are smart. They would price their items just so that we will need to add something much more to achieve the amount.

I can’t count the number of times I went into a shop, with a mind set to just to purchase one item that I needed. Just one. But the moment I was in the shop, and when I was given the option of being eligible to get free gifts for purchases above a certain amount, I ended up buying much more than I need. When I return home with my purchases, I would realize that I did not need the additional items purchased, and I did not need the free items either. I have been fooled. Sucker.

Then there was the number of times I was enticed by lucky draws. “Lucky draw with every purchase!” or “No purchase needed, just participate in the lucky draw and pay a dollar plus shipping during checkout.” My brain would compute wrongly, thinking what a waste it would be to pay a dollar plus shipping without any purchase and I would end up buying stuffs from that shop that I didn’t need just so I could get the free gift. Sometimes, I just joined for fun thinking I wouldn't be so lucky but if I did, I would buy more just to get the lucky draw prize. Sucker.

Free shipping, free gifts with purchase, are not really free because the seller would have included the cost of them into their selling price for the items they sell. Free shipping usually comes with a minimum purchase order and if the seller marked up their price by hundred percent for each item, they can definitely afford to give a free shipping. When it comes to free gifts, do we really need another food container or another fork or spoon? Or how many face towels do we need?

If someone comes to us, offering a free gift of a packet of tissue or box of cookies, with a condition that we provide our contact details such as email or phone number, we would have just "sold" our contact details for a mere packet of tissue. The smarter ones would give a wrong number or email.

I think it is human nature to be enticed and excited by the word “free” and especially so when it is coupled with the word “gift” or "prize". But there is always a catch. Nothing is truly free. It is usually a psychology-marketing tactic used by businesses or people with a hidden cost or a hidden agenda. If there is an indication that we have won something or that we can get a free gift with a condition, we need to think twice, thrice before we do anything that would get us into trouble or trick us to spend more, and that is me telling myself time and time again :D.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/gf8e6XvG_3E

9
$ 4.99
$ 4.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Even winning in Lottery has capital, so I agree there is no such thing as free. Thanks for referring my article to someone in need, hope it helps a little.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the article. I hope it does too. Quite a number of genuine writers are marked as spam which demotivates them to continue to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Too many people are duped by promos. Haha. Some people don't realize it and they just keep joining some contests or other promos and hoping for the best. Ah such is life these days.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yah, life is hard these days and many are in need of money and would try any possible way to get some :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still, we will never be able to resist these free gifts. We may very well start noticing the manipulation of many as we become wiser in terms of recognizing the fake from true ones, but a small number of these free rewards things will keep on luring us. From an example of crypto world, there are number of faucets or ads which people use or watch to earn free coins, generally Bitcoin. But in reality many don't understand that they are paying via their time to earn next to nothing amount of BTC. I understood this soon and came out of the trance. Good read as always !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have an account with a faucet that earns BCH which makes it easier to see the clicking fruits of labour :D I agree that BTC faucets are so unreachable. Sometimes, we only see and realize the truth after we get hit or we see somebody we know get hit, which is unfortunate. Thank you!

p.s. Your comment was somehow marked as spam :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, don't know why it was marked as spam! Which is this faucet for BCH, can you please share your referral link? Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, I read this and thought it might shed some idea, it may not be all the reasons but at least some idea: https://read.cash/@Eybyoung/why-you-are-marked-as-spam-32a26527 My comment was marked as spam once too which I am not sure why but after chatting with some of them here, it could be that I replied too fast between one comment to another, and that I took a month or two break before that before coming back here. They somehow detect that as dodgy and fishy I suppose.

Ah.. I used this: https://faucetcrypto.com/ref/780367 So far, I have been able to withdraw a number of times now to my BCH wallet, in small amounts because it has its limits :D

It has options for a number of other cryptos too but each has its limitation, for e.g. in terms of wallet. E.g ETH will need a faucetpay.io wallet which I didn't bother.

But I only claim the trickling faucets and click on some of the PTC Ads. I don't do Offers and Surveys because they look dodgy. For PTC Ads, the antivirus is able to flag and prevent if it has malware downloaded which some do. Just need to be extra careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true what you say. Nothing is really free. And it takes a lot of willpower to avoid falling into the traps of advertising and marketing. I used to always end up with lots of unnecessary things. Now, I always try to think about it twice. And try to don't fall into the trap of misleading offers.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It does. Even now, I can still get misled with misleading offers. Most times, the impulsive act of buying is not good :D

Thank you much for your sponsorship <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. I have been getting emails for a long time informing me that I have won things. I disregard that because I never participate in raffles or sweepstakes. So I can't win prizes unless I participate in something. These are online scams.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Online scams are one of the worst because they can access anything without us knowing. Hackers are scary these days. We have to very careful to check the links in emails before clicking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like the 50% discount but they actually increased the original price, and the 50% discount is just a bait 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes! I have seen that. Before sale and during sale. Totally uncool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is truly free indeed. People in the marketing department just keeps on getting smarter, same with scammers and hackers. We really need to be more careful to not get tricked nowadays. Great article!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes yes true, people are desperate these days and it gets extremely scary to imagine what they can do. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago