It is a mood thing

5 34
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

It is true when they say it is a mood thing.

Mood, generally defined as a temporary feeling or state of mind, or the way we feel at a point in time or a period of time. But mood is something that can change internally or externally and it can change within a split second.

Mood can last a short period of time and it can prolong too for a long period of time. Mood can be expressed in many ways. I express mine by saying that I am in the mood to do something or I am not in the mood to do something.

I get up in the morning everyday, watch as the sun rises and shines brightly bringing warmth and light. But on some days, sluggishness and moodlessness takes over and I would feel totally unmotivated to do anything. The thing that I am glad for, is that I have my routines to push me to work through the day. Routines do help in bringing some sanity and productivity to an otherwise slow and stagnant day.

When I was younger, I used to think that it was childish to be moody or to have mood swings. I did not understand how anyone could have his or her mood change just like that. Guess what? As I got older, I understand that it is sometimes not a choice, especially when hormones, environment, mental state come into play. When all these factors are all rolled into one, it is hard to separate what is the actual cause of a negative mood thing. It is hard to define and the only way to snap out of it is to tell ourselves to snap out of it. Sometimes it helps to slowly coax and push ourselves out of the negative mood and into a positive one, although it doesn’t work all the time.

If it is a positive mood, I welcome it everyday. A positive mood to do the things that have been planned or not planned and a positive mood to get into the mood to try new things or venture into new horizons. I like it when positive mood visits me and I appreciate the mood that enables me to do many things.

But when the negative mood kicks in, it feels totally uncool. I usually call it a blegh moment of moodlessness. I can have all the time in the world, but when I am not in the mood, nothing gets done. I would surf mindlessly, scrolling and scrolling with no direction, after which I would wonder what was I doing.

But when it comes to obligations and responsibilities, even when I am not in the mood, I push myself to get things done because it is an obligation and a responsibility that I need to fulfill. It would be irresponsible to use mood as an excuse for not carrying out my duties and obligations.

It is tiring when the negative mood kicks in. Sometimes, when I get up in the morning, I feel good and happy, in the mood to do the things I wanted to do. I would plan my day and start going through the motions. Then, an unwelcoming phone call comes and it changes everything, Within a split second, I no longer have the mood to do the things I planned earlier and if I am not able to get pass the mood thing, I can’t help but think that my day was totally wasted. If I was in the mood to do nothing, I would then feel happy not doing anything.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/Cs3y8Mn6-Gk

There were days that I have ideas to write while I work my chores. A title would suddenly pop into my mind and I would think out loud what the content would be. Then, I would walk to and fro my laptop, type a little in between my mopping or dish washing and keep doing that until nothing else comes to mind.

But once I am done with my chores, when I finally have the time to sit down and really type it all out, I can only stare at the screen blankly with the cursor blinking at its space, and words just wouldn’t want to flow. How odd can that be and why is that? If it is not a mood thing, I do not know what it is.

7
$ 5.01
$ 4.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

I can't understand what's going on either. I see that when you write it is a good idea you bring but you come to write little both here and there. I really hope you find your way again and see you more often everywhere my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not understand too @gertu13. I write whenever my mind could think of something. Thank you always for your kind support dear and thank you for the sponsorship again <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mood changes us everytime. Yes if there's an important, you need to force yourself and work the best to finish since the mood is not the reason for it or else there's no other who will be at fault it's only ourselves. Regrets always at the end.

Nice article from yours. God bless you.🙏😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes true true. Mood cannot be used as an excuse, although I cannot deny that mood does help to boost the action. Thank you and God bless you too <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes your right marblely. Yes if we are in a good moods.. Thank you so much..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago