CraftWorks :: Once upon a time - Crocheted dumpling coin pouch

14 35
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

It was some time ago that I crocheted this pouch. I was dreaming of a coin pouch and decided to make one.

The materials used were:

  • crochet hook 4mm

  • 4 inches zipper

  • sewing needle and thread

  • polyster yarn

It started with chaining a number of chains and single crochet to create a base that was almost like the base of a slipper or shoe. I chose polyester yarn which was sturdier and variegated colour. It made it easy with yarn colour like these as there was no need to think about changing colours. The colour was naturally changed as we crochet.

Once I reached the size that I wanted, I folded the piece to form the pouch.

Then, I sewed on the zipper by hand and carefully followed the curved edges and sealed the pouch by sewing the sides.

The pouch stated to take shape and it was getting there.

I chose to add a lining with some leftover fabric. I cut out the shape with a pair of zigzag scissors, it helps in dealing with the frayed edges.

I hand sewed the lining on to the insides of the pouch. I had hoped to sew it on neater but it was the best I could do at that time.

When it was all done, after some hours, the coin pouch was ready. Its shape looked like a dumpling which was why usually pouches like these are called dumpling.

It was meant as a gift but unfortunately the sewing was not neat enough. Therefore, I just kept it for myself but now I am not sure where it is :)


6
$ 0.12
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
+ 1
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Wow, the final result is incredible, I love the colors, congratulations!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear! Nice to see you here too! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this so cool. you can make it as your business

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's so cute! I bet you can make a business out of that if you can make enough. Or maybe learn more designs so that they can be made to order and they can be more special ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear <3 I am seriously thinking about it but I am pretty slow. Your froggy is still paused at the head 😖.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The froggy can wait UwU you can always work on it when you can and have the time for it. I can wait

$ 0.00
3 years ago

NICE ONE! I haven't done anything with zipper yet, somehow I find it difficult to sew in the zipper. 😉👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Yes, I agree. It takes a little of getting used to when sewing zipper hahah and the thought of it can be tiring.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cute..you can make a business out of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the tip :) I am thinking about it but I need to speed up my work :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your purse. God bless your wonderful gifts with your hands. I look beautiful on you. Somewhere in the house you must have kept it very well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @gertu13 <3 Love you much for your kind words and tips <3 <3 <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks nice. I never saw a zipper in two different colours.

@heartbeat1515

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @wakeupkitty <3 Me either and when I saw them at one of the Japanese chain stores, I grabbed it :)

Thank you to you and @gertu13 for always tipping me. I am very grateful <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago