Colours from a Grocer

15 27
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

One thing I look forward to every week is my trip to the grocer to top up food stuffs for the week. The grocers that I go to, are usually not crowded and one that I can take my time to walk along each section to choose.

When it comes to the first section usually, I enjoy the bright and intense colours of fresh vegetables and fruits. As I took my smartphone to take these close-up photos, there were curious looks for sure but hey, a smartphone photographer needs to do what a smartphone photographer needs to do :)

Orange as carrots.

Green as cucumbers.

Purple as cute little brinjals.

Guess what this is?

Brown as little yams that looks like some alien at this angle.

I am not sure what colour this is, pinkish potatoes?

And back home, there comes the fun part of cutting up the fruits and vegetables and displaying them, to try to take close-up photos of them.

Sweet and juicy papaya, I only like one kind and they have to be juicy and sweet and cold.

How about a banana or two? These bananas are short and stout which makes them really easy to eat.

Or a slice of mouthwatering watermelon? One of my favourite fruits.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away? Really? I am not too sure about that but it is quite fun to take photos of an apple with water drops.

Ooo.. how about adding some chili to your food? Chili in soy sauce adds an interesting dining experience.

For the photos, I especially like it when the lighting is just bright enough to give an object a certain interesting focus with a white background although the background is off white.


All the photos were taken using my iPhone 6, with its square frame function without any filters in 2019 and 2020.


This is my third entry in support of @wakeupkitty 's SYT: Creative SmartPhone Photography's Community contest, together with @heartbeat1515 : https://read.cash/@wakeupkitty/smartphone-photography-contest-entries-bc425a87


8
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

You know what? Most of what you show is not available here or it looks totally different. You carrots are cleaned. If that is the way with us they are only for sale in plastic bags.

The banans we have look different never saw these ones. Wonder what breed it is.

Our cucumber is way greener.

Those potatoes we have too and about 20 or more different species. Each species is good for something else. Not that I care or taste the difference. We call this a red potato although the potato isn't red at all. 🤔 I buy what I can afgord and they need to be new (new harvest) because I do not peel.

An apple a day doesn't keep the doctor away. The level of Vitamine C is not high enough plus it's sugar and sour which means it damages the teeth.

You made a very creative and colourful entry. Thanks for sharing.

P.s. You are allowed to make photos in the shop?

👍🏻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @wakeupkitty <3 The carrots are quite clean. We also have prepacked ones from Australia and China. Interesting how different countries have different variety :) I love going to the grocer when I travel last time, to see what is different. The bananas, I think it is this breed: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lady_Finger_banana Sweet, small and yummy. We have very green cucumbers but they are smaller and thinner, usually used in salads because they are sweeter and guess what they are called? Japanese cucumber. Not sure why. Guess it is the breed. Potatoes there are a number of different species too, Russet is one, and there are really small ones too. Yah, I think it is allowed :D Nobody stopped me hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Who wouldn't like a shot at the groceries when you go shopping,I really like the veggies and fruits you took there Nice shot from you and wishing you the best at this contest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Ericmannie. They are so colourful and vibrant to look at :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also like to take photos of vegetables when I go shopping.

I like yellow bananas and red papayas, they are sweet.

And the sideburns, is one of the fruits that I like to eat the most. When they are very red, I buy several and chill them in the fridge. And to eat.

They are very refreshing in this hot climate of my country.

Good shots

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe.. it is so nice to see the colours, isn't it? Yes yes, I like it when they are sweet and juicy too for papayas and watermelon. Yummm. And when chilled, super yum! And thirst quenching :) Thank you @gertu!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those photos look good, I wanted to eat them 😆 I love chilies too, it is an appetizer to me, I like spicy foods. Best of luck to the contest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Slurrrppp.. me too! I am salivating thinking about spicy foods :D Best of luck to all of us :) There are many beautiful entries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, there are many. So many talented photographer here 😄

Yeah spicy food is the best 😋😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes there are (as there are spammers :D) I just marked 2 spammers haha. Ah yes, I've just had dose of spicy food slurrrppp.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You surely know how to make a full tummy feel hungry again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is healthy colourful photography.

Did you paste your link under the announcement article? If you haven't you could try doing that the contest had ended but who knows it is still accepted because you posted this 19 hours ago.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you heartbeat1515. I added the link to the same comment where I pasted the earlier 2 entries. But thank you for adding it for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would not want anyone to be miss out if it is a valid entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago