Boredom?

7 23
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Why do we allow ourselves to go there? How is it that we can feel bored when there are so many things in the world for us to do? And for us who are always doing something, never a moment to rest, when there is an opportunity to not do anything, it is quite a bliss.

When I was younger, I did allow myself to go there, staring at blank spaces, wondering what I was doing, not knowing what to do with all the time that I have and feeling naturally bored. Or the times that I had to keep doing the same thing over and over again, sighing almost daily and wondering how do I keep going, doing the same thing.

But first, we need to ask ourselves, is being bored bad? It is not necessarily bad but when one starts to say that they feel bored, the sentiment is usually negative, isn't it?

If I had the time and that I enjoy the time of not having to do anything, I wouldn't say that I am bored. I would say that I am enjoying my me-time, not having to do anything, just relax and watch the world go by, or watch something go by, wherever I am. Or maybe fold and play paper plane?

After experiencing death of loved ones over the recent years, I have come to appreciate the time I have with what I have, with the ones who matter to me, who are still around. Once time passes, once we lose someone close and dear, nothing can bring them back. The past will be the past and that is it. We will only be left with memories, good or bad.

When we realize that life is short and that time zooms pass by way too fast, faster than we are able to comprehend, we wouldn't have the time to feel bored or reach the state of boredom. Every second counts and everything matters.

We are lucky in some ways because our world has been flattened. Almost everything is available at our fingertips, well sort of. With internet, a smartphone and some applications, we can learn almost anything we want, travel to anywhere, just by a few taps and clicks and swipe.

I have traveled to places I never thought I would if I had the money to, I have been given sneak peaks into factories to see how things were made, places that I would never have been given permission to and I have been able to see hundreds of ways to do something, to be able to compare and choose the best way that suits me, if I choose to learn it. All in the comfort of my home or wherever I am.

If I have been doing something for too long, too repetitive, I just pause and take a moment to rest my brain for a bit. I can read a book, browse for something online, maybe do some online window shopping, or find some tutorials, or play a game. The possibilities are endless.

If I want to rest my eyes, I can just close my eyes, listen to music or without music, enjoy a cup of tea or just clear water and rest. Or if I feel like a good workout, I can take a walk or do some stretches in front of the telly. If I live in the countryside, I will have a natural view but I can look for one online too. There is really no time to be bored, is there?


5
$ 0.54
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.01 from @Judith1969
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

great article my dear friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a lack of time. As a child I had hardly time for me either. Indeed certain tasks I found boring but not life itself. I am always in a hurry somehow. I wish I would get rid of that. It's good to have a break to think. It's what I do if I do something else, drive my car or sleep. Mainly if I am alone. Surrounded by people it's disturbance.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that an otter? But i don't get that bred, i don't enjoy that feeling that's why I'm always reading or trying to learn something or I'm simply trying to create sometimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup boredom do sometime strikes that is why I have a lot of unfinished crochet projects. Especially if entails only one color of yarn. 😂 I put it down and start another one. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) Yes that can be quite a mundane thing to do, working the same stitches with the same colour :D I too have many unfinished projects hehe. Thank you for dropping by @Judith1969 <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For those who always have something to do, boredom does not come. Especially these days that I have been incapacitated in one leg and suffering from a lot of pain, I found a way to do something afterwards that would ease my pain.

And even during the pain I found ways to alleviate it, things like applying ice to the pain areas and doing muscle relaxation therapies in the peak hours,

So even in the moments that are least believed, there is also something else to do. Boredom!! neehh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I truly hope you will be able to find ways to ease the pain @gertu13. Yes, there is always something to do. And you can write an article or reply to comments or read articles while waiting to apply ice :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can say that I have improved a lot. I already have 20 days of treatment and I see that I can walk a little more. I was even able to go out to see my plants. But when I feel a little pain I go back to bed. Because I still can't sit down. I learned how to put ice on a bandage and then put it where it hurts. As it is tied on my leg with the bandage and ice, I can be commenting, posting or on other platforms.

So friend, I conclude that if heaven gives me lemons I have to make lemonade.

$ 0.00
3 years ago