A good day? Maybe.

14 41
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Days passed and we are now in November. My mind wandered and wondered, where did the time go? Soon, it will be the end of 2020, the most "eventful" year so far. A year of many firsts, of many discoveries and for many, trials and tribulations.

Every day, we wake up and go through the day. Some days, easier than another. Some days are so hard that we wished they end as fast as possible. Some days, even when the day has not arrived, there are anticipations and sometimes anxiety. Some days, it does not matter. The day may come and go as it pleases.

As the day passes by, just as fast as it comes and goes, we decide on what we need to do or not to do. Obligations and responsibilities usually take priority. If we have plants to water, pets to feed, work to be done, chores to be completed, we do them. If we feel up to it, we get loads of things done and the day may feel productive. Some days, we just don't feel like doing much and the mind just decides to put aside the to-do things.

Sometimes, even when we do not do much, the days passes by but we feel good. Where else some days, it feels like crap. I guess that is what us, homo sapiens are like. We have so many thoughts and emotions within us, that each may surface as and when it pleases. I wonder if our pets think and feel as much as us. Animals in general, through their need for survival, would have much to think about too, don't they?

"Did you have a good day?" or "How was your day?" someone might ask. It takes a moment or two to think about it and at the end of it, the answer is usually ambiguous. I don't know, really. Some parts of the day may be good, some parts may be so-so and maybe one part or two could have been better.

What makes a good day, anyway? Or what makes a bad day? Each noun is subjective to an individual. A good day for me, may not be considered as a good day for you and vice versa. But should I care or do you care?

During one of my travels, as I was walking around, I was greeted with "How's it going?" or "How are you doing?". Each time, I would answer the greeting until someone told me that I didn't need to, they were just being polite and didn't care how my day was. That got me thinking.

If on a fine day, I didn't do much but somehow, I feel I had a good day. When I tell that to someone who asks, "Oh...." the response would come. And if I had a bad day, what would you do about it or what can you do about it? I can't help but wonder, what do you care about my day anyway? I guess, it is possible that you would like to ask my favour and therefore, you would like to gauge how my mood was. Or perhaps, it is just a conversation filler?

So really, do you want to know or do you really care how was my day? Whether or not I had a good day or a bad day, it will be my own to appreciate.

Prompt: good day


8
$ 17.30
$ 17.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

Well greetings now are merely just to show face but besides that, i don't think the response is as valued as it was years ago. If you mattered to the person, of course your response would matter too but besides that though i don't think people really care about each other now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. No doubt there are those who really care but most, don't. I guess it depends who asks and in what context they ask. Here's another big hug for you "HUGGGGGGGGGG".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm getting so much hugs from you, thank you 😊 I'm not sure about contexts in greetings but most people will just go with a quick "good, and you?" Kind of response. They don't really expect the people they ask to open up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I ask someone "how are you doing" I expect an answer because my question is asked out of interest, not to be polite. To be honest I do not see the polite part in asking and not being willing to listen to the answer. If you want to be polite greet. Say 'good morning', 'good day', 'farewell'. These aren't questions and show you are not expecting an answer.

I know how I feel, so do my children it's just not always easy to describe or you do not want to share your feelings everywhere with anyone.

Like my child answered me yesterday: "My day wasn't good and wasn't bad, it's hard to say. Something doesn't feel right."

I said "Perhaps we need a good laugh".

The year is indeed nearly over. How is your #hasil2020 doing?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was surprised too when I heard that and I thought they wanted to know how I was doing. But I guess not. It depends who asks I guess. Laugh is a good medicine :) Yes indeed. My #hasil2020 has gone down the drain dear. I have not been posting everyday, have not been getting enough steps, not drawing yet and not baking enough. How is yours?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Friend, every day is wonderful for me. I am very optimistic.

I wasted many days of my life being sad and pessimistic. I only had to be near death to know that all my days are a gift. These days or rather these months I have had a lot of suffering with my illness. I didn't stop saying thank you to God for that new day even though it was painful for me.

Today I am improving. I love knowing how are you? I love to smile at people and say good morning. It's up to them if they want to return my greeting and my smile. If they don't, they miss it, not me. I keep on smiling and being positive!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like everyday to be wonderful too :) Most days, they are but there will be some days that are hard. But I count my blessings everyday and appreciate life everyday that I get to wake up, cherishing all the time I have with my loved ones and cherishing them. I am really happy to read that you are improving and I hope you continue to improve dear. My dear, if the question comes from you, I will answer you whole heartedly because of the wonderful person you are :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @marblely I love you very much too, you are a cybernaut friend. And by the way I just woke up and I thanked God for my life and you, how did you wake up? how are you today?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Greeting is, at least not to me, not the same as asking "how do you do?".

It's good to hear you hang in and feel happy which each new day. I hope the pain can be handled or better disappears. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my country we say: hello, how are you? And we answered: "For these times I think it is good, or to not talk much I am regular." and such simple things. If they don't want to talk, they just reply hello to the first greeting and nothing else.

I'm getting better. I still have a month of treatment left. I hope I can walk completely without the aid of the cane. And to be able to sit for long hours without standing with pain in the buttock. Thanks for your opinion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Make sense .. It's already part of our practice to say "how are you" "hows your day?" But if you said you're not fine..will they do something to make you feel better? 😅 we are thinking alike.. But for some, it gives comfort when someone is asking how you feel, seems like they are concern.. But hopefully, they really are.. If no further response or actions, meaning they are not..lol..they just want to ask that question..

But i still want to ask you, how are you today? 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe.. I should add in, that it depends who asks. If it is a good friend or a loved one, then, it may possibly give comfort :) Bosses, maybe not :D

I am doing alright. Am not spending enough time here. Have been feeling a little under the weather and unmotivated for some reason. Maybe distracted. Mind wanders a little too much :D

How have you been? I hope to read some of your articles soon. Thank you for the tip <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah if it is a friend or family, haha.. Exactly the boss will ask you that but actually don't care bout your feelings only care about your performance 🤣

Just take your time.. Rc is just here..you can visit anytime.. But your priorities are more important of course.. And our mind is really like that.. Keep on thinking and wandering ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago