13 December 2021: Learn

2 29
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

Dear Diary,

Time flew by again. It felt like just recently I wrote to you but when I checked the dates again, it was more than a week ago. I was just telling myself the other day that I must not neglect you but I did. My bad. I am not going to apologize because I am doing that a little too often. I just need to take action. You may be sick and bored of me for repeating this stance too. So, I will not apologize. You may also be wondering what am I rambling away here. Just let me ramble a bit as I type away my thoughts on my current favourite keyboard.

Time flies by when we are preoccupied with things to do, doesn’t it? Do you notice that? When we are in need of more time, it is when it feels like there is not enough time. And when we have so much time in hand, when we are not busy, when we are not doing much or when we do not feel like doing much, that is when time crawls. Why is that? I sometimes tell myself that the world is spinning a bit too fast but is it really so? I think it is just a figment of my imagination.

I have been thinking quite a bit, staring at numbers and information that I have been assigned to do something about, some of which I am still thinking about what can be done and what should be done. It is not as simple as I thought it would be. There is just so much to learn everyday if we choose to.

I reflected a bit too about some of my previous jobs. One of them was somewhat similar to a data entry job. We key in the inputs and we generate the outputs while trying to give sense of the output to the receiving end by writing a report about it.

It came to a point that it became a little mundane. The inputs may be different but the work itself if we think about it very simply, was pretty much the same. One of my juniors became quite annoyed after a year of doing this job. She felt it was stupid because it felt as though there was no purpose. I spoke to her and asked her to think of it differently, to not be sucked into the job for namesake, to think beyond the job and what it can give. There are many areas of improvement that we can discover if we just give it some thought.

When we think about it deeper, if we just give more thought to it, the job description itself was mundane but there were many things that we could do to add more color and life to it. I think every job in this world has some form of mundanity in it. We just got to find that extra something to keep going and keep ourselves excited while sharpening our own saw.

We could think of what else we could do to make things more efficient, we could create new tools, think of additional service offerings. We learn how to manage expectations and manage behaviour, our own and others. We learn to manage time and prioritize accordingly. There is just so much we could learn from it.

When we start to think about it, the possibilities are endless. If we do not restrain our mind and constrain our thoughts, there are many things that we can do in addition to the job that we have been assigned to do, if it starts becoming mundane that is. If we are able to find excitement in all of its mundanity, then we are good. We are self-sufficient in keeping ourselves happy and in motivating ourselves to learn everyday in every single thing that we are faced with and are experiencing. I personally think it is important to change our mindset to a learning one if ever we feel we are at a stumbling block of a groundhog day.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/w7sIj-M5Xyc

3
$ 1.47
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
2 years ago

Comments

I never cared about mundanity, monotonous jobs. The first days perhaps but once you do it automatically there's so much room to think. I write entire stories this way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You walked away from everything, my friend. Everywhere you went to appear very little. I'm back on Steemit doing a little challenge. If you dare to go visit me. A hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago