Named the child after the internet operator: Got 18 years of free service

10 28
Avatar for lukalaban1981
3 years ago

I read everything on the internet, but this just kept my attention. I'm old-fashioned, I don't like modern names, but in my opinion this is an exaggeration.

When parents choose a name for their newborn, they usually try to make it something unique, or to have some special meaning. One married couple went a step further.

The Internet provider in Switzerland, Twifi, sent an invitation to all new parents, offering 18 years of free internet to everyone who names their child after him - Twifius or Twifi.

"Simply send us a photo of your child's birth certificate. After verification, Twifi will give you 18 years of free internet," the ad reads. It sounds crazy, and it's even worse that two people decided to respond to this.

That is how the 30-year-old married couple, who for obvious reasons wanted to remain anonymous, named their daughter Twifie. Luckily, they decided to be subtle, so that’s her middle name, not her first name.

They said that the money, which they would otherwise spend on the Internet, would be set aside for 18 years, so that they could afford her a car when she becomes an adult.

"We want to remain anonymous to the environment, because we do not want to justify ourselves to anyone. We are very affected by the accusations that we sold the name of our child," said the mother.

Twifi CEO Filip Foš has promised to pay the internet for this family for 18 years even if Twifi fails.

I hope that this will not give an idea to some who need a car, so that you call your child Mercedes or Dacia ....

7
$ 0.67
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Jisan21
Avatar for lukalaban1981
3 years ago

Comments

i read this and i can say we all different and this is treasure and curse in same time, so this act is not harmful at least so i dont judge

$ 0.00
3 years ago

full of informations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I'm pretty old-fashioned about it. However, such things have happened before. The elders told me that some children used to be called Petoletka (that was the name of a factory in Serbia)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

O my mother, what all peoples will not do for the sake of material things! But the madness never ends! That is how parents from Belgrade gave their daughter the name Serbia in 2009! Why not, I live in the country of Serbia and let my name be Serbia!:) :):)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, that's a cute name Twifie! But you know what my husbands name is Forde so I want my daughters name to be Portia but ended up with just Tia and a boy Ferrari. But it wont happen lol. He don't like the idea if I call them I just say "Cars! Get in!" 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very funny, thanx for comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome, at least don't call the kids Corona or covid they will not like it when they grow up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Polish, korona means Crown, they have a sports club Korona, and I have a friend named Kruna, when I call her on the phone I say Hello Korona :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same in Philippines korona means crown. Haha, so she keeps dropping the phone then? 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago