Short story: Life is like that

2 18
Avatar for luckyshanto
3 years ago

Arijit Guha, an employee of Electric Supply Corporation, started writing from college life. He is also associated with a small literary magazine. His only book came out of there. Today is Arijit's story.

In the face of a dark alley in North Kolkata, the street is ablaze with the light of the corporation's bright street lights. At the very end of the alley, the alley turns into another Tasya alley. The light doesn't reach that point. There is only one house in Tasya alley. An old one storey house. The landlord of that house does not live by himself, he has rented it to a tenant, but no one knows who that tenant gentleman is. Maybe because no voter is here, the vision of the corporation has not reached that Tasya alley.

It rained once in the afternoon. It is still raining occasionally. The sultry feeling is still in the air. The road is patchy in the mud.

A man came and stood in front of the main road. The people are not special. Crossing the road from side to side, he came under the light post of the corporation and grabbed a bidi holding the umbrella in his hand. The man's face is not clear for the umbrella.

Holding the bidi, he stepped forward towards the end of the alley. Then he turned left from the edge of the alley and entered the small alley and stood in front of the one-storey house. He took the bidi out of his hand and took out a bunch of keys from his pocket. He pressed the keys one by one and saw that he had just entered the lock of the house with the key and turned it around and opened the lock with a sound. As soon as I entered the house and pressed the light switch, a light bulb came on. Inside the room there was only a table and a chair. And there is a piece of paper lying on the table. Pulling up the chair, the man sat down at the table, took a piece of white paper from the pile of paper, took the pen out of his book pocket and began to write.

Rajarshi Sen looked up from the sea of ​​papers and files on the table. A gentleman was standing at the door of his cabin.

‘Sir, can I come?’

When the gentleman asked permission to enter the cabin again, Rajarshi said,

‘Hmm, come on. What do you need? '

The glass-covered Doordrishti editor's cabin at the far end of the medium-sized Doordrishti office. With the editor's permission to enter through the cabin door, Arindam said,

‘My name is Sir Arindam. Shantanu told you about me. '

‘Oh, yes yes. You are Shantanu’s friend. Come on. Sit down. What to take? Tea or coffee? '

‘No no, it doesn’t take anything. Just a glass of water. Thanks. '

‘Then tell me, what do I need?’ Rajarshi looked at the housekeeping on the intercom and said again, ‘Shantanu just said you want to meet me. He didn't say what was needed. '

"Actually, sir."

‘Ah, don’t stay, sir. Call it Rajarshi. 'Life is like that

‘Well quite. In fact Rajarshi, the matter is very strange. I mean, I don't know if you'll believe it, but I still find it incredible. '

There was a knock on the cabin door, then a housekeeping boy came in and left with a glass of water on a tea coaster saying 'Sir water'. Arindam began to speak again after the boy had left.

"I have been a subscriber of your magazine for the last ten years. I don't understand literature, but I like to read the features of your magazine. That's why I bought your magazine. Nowadays I like to read the stories again. Your magazine has a good reputation in the market."

Arindam finished the glass of water and put the glass on the coaster and started talking again. Life is like that

"I was shocked to read the first episode of the recent series 'Life as You Are'.

‘Oh, the writing of Orion?’

‘Yes yes Orion. That's right. I think you are writing under a pseudonym, right? Because I have never heard the name of Kalpurush. '

He was asked many times his real name, but never said it. Strange people. I have never seen him face to face till today. He wrote a few stories in our magazine, but for a long time he wanted to write a series of novels. He told us that he has a plot for a great novel. We are also convinced by his words and give him a chance to write a series. He said don't despair. I still see that it is going on fairly. '

‘My problem is with him.’ Life is like that

Rajarshi looked at Arindam in surprise. ‘Problems with him? What's the matter? What did he do? '

‘The problem is that he didn’t do anything. But if he did something, there would be no problem. '

‘Tell me what Healy Marca is talking about! I don’t understand anything. And how can I help with that? ’Clearly Rajarshi’s throat was a little warm. Life is like that

"Oh, don't be angry. I'll tell you now." Listen then. I have already told you that I do not understand Sahitya Fahitya. I will take your magazine for the features. This time, seeing the advertisement of Kalpurush's serial novel in your newspaper, I became excited, especially for the name Kalpurush. A strange name. I found the name very mysterious. Then I was shocked after reading the first episode.

I got a lot of my childhood in that episode. It was as if someone had started writing my autobiography. Only the names of the characters are different, and all the same. At first I thought, it could happen, I have heard with the writings of many people that many can relate to themselves. But as the story progressed, aspects of my own life began to emerge. I didn't even remember the details, but it was as if Orion had presented them perfectly.

Life is like that

On the one hand, of course, I'm having a lot of fun, but on the other hand, I'm scared. How did he know so many details of my life! Someone is watching me from behind that even my childhood knows! I reported the matter to my office colleague Shantanu. He was very surprised to hear that. He told me about you. He said the paper editor knew him. Talk to the editor about my incident. '

After talking for a while, Arindam became silent. Rajarshi sighed and said, ‘Does that mean that Sayantan has a central character that matches your life? It's weird! '

‘Yes, very surprising. Anyone who listens will say this. '

‘Tell me what I can do about it! Life as it is'

‘You give me the address of Orion. I want to meet him. "

‘Look, the author's address is forbidden to any reader without the author's permission. We never do that. But in this case I also have an interest in what is happening. I'm giving you the address, but if you meet him, please don't tell me the address you got from me.

Although I do not have a conversation with him, which is the source of the writing. After sending several short stories to our magazine, we asked him to write a series of novels in the interest of the readers. He agreed. We communicate with the rest of the writers of our magazine through mail, but all his writings come by post by post and we also communicate with him by sending letters through post. We don't even have his phone number. '

Rajarshi took out a pad, scribbled the address and handed it to Arindam, saying, "At first we thought maybe old-fashioned people don't use mobile phones or land phones." Mail is a far cry. But now I see a very interesting character, this orthodox gentleman. All right, you go and see, then you must tell me what happened. '

As soon as he left the office of 'Doordrishti', Shantanu's phone rang on Arindam's mobile. Shantanu's excited voice was heard as soon as he said hello.

What is the address of the man?

‘Yes, I got it. I might have gone now, but there are some jobs pending in the office. It will be difficult if they are not completed by today. '

‘Okay, do one thing, you come to the office. After the holidays, we will go together. Where is the address? '

‘It looks like Maniktala. But I can't recognize the road. I think there will be a lane. '

‘You don’t recognize and can be recognized. If you ask the people around, you can show it. You go to the office quickly. '

Leaving the phone, Arindam wanted to stop a taxi by showing his hand. The taxi ignored Arindam without any hesitation and left. Gritting his teeth in anger, he hurled a scolding at the taxi driver, took out his phone and opened Uber. Destination showed up to do that coming in three minutes. Nishchinto took a cigarette. In the heat of the afternoon patch patch did not really want to get on the bus. But now getting a meter taxi in Kolkata means getting a lottery ticket.

Back in the office, Arindam drowned at work. I didn't even understand when that afternoon ended and the evening passed. He regained consciousness after knocking Shantanu on his cubicle. ‘What the heck, don’t go there?’

‘Yes, yes, this is done. Let’s get out. ’Life is like that

The gentleman got off the bus at the front of the main road, looked around and nodded to give the note with Rajarshi's address to someone. I don't know where the address is. After asking about three or four people, one of them was able to tell me exactly where to go. Life is like that

When he came to the lamppost, he could not find the road. But people are not like that to ask. But the buy lane of the address does not match. Meanwhile there should be another road according to the address. At last Shantanui said, "Let's see if there is any other lane at the end."

At the very end of the alley, the two of them saw another small alley on the left. To enter through it, I saw an old one-storey house. The house was locked and it was dark all around. They looked around and came out disappointed not to see anyone.

Shantanu started the story with a tea waller by ordering two teas from a tea shop on the main road. It was learned that no one had seen anyone entering or leaving the house. Of course, people do not go there because the place is dark. However, some people have seen that sometimes the light is on, and after a while it goes out. No one knows who enters and who leaves.

Arindam's face was getting hard as he read the episode of the new issue of Doordrishti. He sniffed once and removed the book from his hand. He controlled himself at the moment of throwing. He lowered his hand and started reading again. His wife Tiyash had gone for tea a long time ago. The tea is cold on the table. No attention is paid to Arindam's tea.

Wife Tiyash came to the dining room once from the kitchen. ‘Ki go, the tea has become cold and turned into water. Why not eat? Okay, I understand. Kalpurush seems to have given a surprise again! What did he write? What part of your life did you write about this time? '

Arindam threw the book from his hand towards Tiyas. Tiyas started reading the episode of the novel 'Life is like that'. He came to a standstill and stopped. He read that place again. Tiyas's eyes and face also turned red with anger.

‘Kisab wrote nonsense. You just have to be more discriminating with the help you render toward other people. '

‘How long have you been in a relationship with Shantanu?’ Arindam asked in a cold voice.

"Arindam, there is a limit to exaggeration. Do you know what you are talking about?"

"I'm right. Not a single thing Kalpurush has written wrong so far. Even what no one should know, in college life I used to write in Little Magazine, he has pointed it out. The only thing in my life now except for me is to know this for someone else." It is not possible. Unbeknownst to me, you have got involved with Shantanu, Tiyas! '

"You're a rascal." Tiyas doesn't speak out of anger. "Do you suspect me of a co-incidence?"

"It's not a co-incidence. I'm damn sure. As much as you want to scold me, you have been exposed, you have been exposed bloody slut."

‘Arindam !!!’ Tiyash slapped him hard on the cheek.

The man threw the pen in his hand and took out another pen from his pocket. The ink is gone. In the flickering light of the bulb he began to write again.

‘After the wife discovered an illicit affair with an office colleague friend, the two started arguing. Sayanton became enraged like a paranoid schizophrenic patient with a loud slap from his wife. He grabbed his wife's neck with both hands. After a while, he threw his body lying on the ground and once he brought his hand to his nose, he tried to feel his breath. As soon as he was sure he was dead, a brutal smile appeared on his face. '

Life is like that

Just then the pocket phone rang again. Silently, he stared at the screen of his mobile for a while. Shantanu's phone. Eighteen missed calls with this. The phone will no longer hold the once failed literary Arindam. Then he will write the way the events will proceed. If you can't bring a dramatic twist to the novel, the novel won't freeze. Then the turn of drama will begin. Everyone will then start looking for Arindam to kill his wife.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Teji
Avatar for luckyshanto
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago