It's Still Too Early In The Crypto Game

3 98
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

Looking at the future

A few hours ago I had a conversation at a nearby store with a friend of mine whom I hadn't met for quite a long time due to the ongoing lockdowns. We have been good friends for many years and share many common interests, one of which is the ever-growing cryptocurrency industry and the opportunities provided by the blockchain technology. As you can understand, we almost immediately started the blockchain/Bitcoin talk, only to be interrupted by a random stranger who said something like 'this is monopoly money lol' and went on with his business laughing to himself.

Another one who was watching our conversation joined in and asked for further information about this 'monopoly money' as he said, and even though he seemed genuinely interested, the monopoly punchline was a red flag for me, so I avoided the conversation. See, ignorance is one thing and I can totally understand it, since not all of us have the same level of access to information, which depends on knowledge, education and one's ability to speak more than one language. However, I really can't stand individuals who want to come off as experts in fields they have literally no clue about.

Sharing is caring

However, if a person is willing to examine and accept new information that contradicts what they thought was true, we should always give them a chance and offer guidance towards this direction. And that basically means that I was probably wrong to avoid sharing further information about the blockchain technology with that random dude, but I forgive myself because I really am tired of trying to inform people about the cryptocurrency ecosystem. No matter how much I try to explain such a complex concept to people who are technologically illiterate, it's totally ineffective and a waste of time and energy.

The sad truth is that I live in a country where the vast majority are older folks; entire generations who grew up in a war-torn country, had to work hard to help the family make ends meet from a single-digit age, and didn't even have the opportunity to go to school and get a basic education. My grandmother, for instance, is 92 years old and doesn't even know how to read in her mother tongue. Just imagine how easy to manipulate people with such a low level of knowledge are; that's not because they are slow, but because they have very limited access to information. They only get to hear about what's on the tv and radio.

Ironically enough, our youth are equally easy to manipulate even though they all have the great advantage of education. And though they do possess the tools necessary to reap the reward, they just don't seem to be interested at all. They go about living their lives on autopilot, constantly chasing instant gratification and pleasure, and always too bored to look things up or worry about the future. And I'm not here to judge anyone; I do respect their right to live their lives the way they desire. And if you ask me, that's a positive sign. Why?

We are still in the beginning

Because as far as I'm concerned this serves as proof that the whole cryptocurrency game is still in its infancy stage. The masses are still completely unaware of the tehcnology behind this ecosystem and the ways in which it can change our world for the better. And it's not just the elderly; the majority of young people are completely unaware and surprisingly indifferent. And yes, even the vast majority of crypto users aren't adequately informed and tecnologically educated. Most people still don't know how paper wallets work.

I know people who have been around for more than 4 years and still don't know how to use a cold wallet, let alone explain the process to a random person who has no idea about what this cryptocurrency thingy even is. I believe that not even some of the very early adopters are qualified enough to explain in detail how it all works to people who are completely unfamiliar with the subject. Just imagine how hard it can be for someone who doesn't even use an email address on a regular basis to grasp all of this and trust the crypto space.

You may think that it's just a small percentage of the population, but it's not. I know way too many people who go about living their everyday life using the internet just to browse facebook, instagram and youtube, the majority of whom do not even remember their email password. And yes, all of them are young people who have barely heard of Bitcoin, and if they have, they think all cryptos are ''bitcoins'' and that's basically all they know about the blockchain technology in 2021.

The crazy ones

Like it or not, we are nerds and way ahead of our time, and this basically means that the train is still at the station waiting for us. Most people in 2021 are having a hard time remembering their email and Facebook password, and need help in order to sign up on a new website. This makes me think that we are still far from achieving mass adoption, and therefore, we have a great opportunity to gather crypto assets and make a huge return on investment in the long run. If you think that the missed opportunities of 2009 and 2011 are gone forever, I would advise you to reconsider. It's still too early.

I've been involved in the cryptocurrency game since 2017, and even though I have always been very enthusiatic and vocal about it, I've only managed to convince two friends of mine to join the ride. People just don't care yet, they don't listen. They still can't see the amazing potential of this revolutionary peer to peer transaction system and the technology behind it, and that's because they do not possess the knowledge necessary to appreciate it. Which basically translates into one thing: it's still way too early in the game.

Moral of the story

That was my takeaway from today's conversation which got interrupted by a random dude who probably doesn't even own an email account, but yet somehow knows that the blockchain technology is a fraud. Encounters like this one are the reason why I no longer waste my time informing random people and breaking down the basics for them. I always respond that I'm too busy for this and avoid wasting my energy trying to open their eyes. Unfortunately for them, my time is too valuable these days with all the cryptocurrency hustling I am involved in. I'm saving it up.

If you took the time to read this far, you are a true hero, and I appreciate your support. The fact that you are reading publications on read.cash means you are way ahead of your time anyway, so it's an honour to know you devoted your precious time to read these lines. I hope this message will motivate you to keep stacking more crypto and be optimistic about the future. You will be in for some huge surprises if you hold your bags tightly.

I appreciate your attention,

@lordneroo

Image Source

14
$ 17.04
$ 9.96 from @Test75785
$ 7.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of lordneroo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lordneroo
3 years ago

Comments

great read! i think a lot of the adoption issues that you're discussing will only be handled well in the future with the sort of mass adoption that makes all the technology more accessible.

the person passing by that scorns bitcoin does so because they have no use for it. in their mind it doesn't solve any problems because they already have money (even if that is also problematic).

i was actually talking with someone here the other day (@cryptoph) about adoption of blockchain technology. they wrote an article recently that made interesting points. funny that you did also!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading!

To be honest I believe we will have to wait at least another decade to see mass adoption. That's both good and bad for me at the same time, but I will gladly take my crypto profits anyway. Regardless, I see it as a huge chance to make money. Of course I could be wrong, that's just my opinion.

Even if they have no particular use for it, it's still a great chance to make money, and given the fact that the crypto industry is stronger than ever twelve years after its birth, it's funny to me how people still believe it's a bubble and stuff.

See you around!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i am all for taking advantage of financial opportunities like you say, but that is the mindset that creeps in from the mainstream, and which can also get distorted and magnified by how meme-y the space can be. if the only thing that people can see from a newcomer's perspective is potential profit, they aren't really driving use or supporting the space.

but investment fuels new projects in crypto unlike anywhere else, and there's a lot of innovation happening with tokenomics and monetary policy that have wider ramifications, so it is also exciting.

i'm glad to be here. cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago