Between Winning and Losing

7 29
Avatar for lonestranger
2 years ago

What do you usually do when you're stucked on a moral dilemma?

source:inc.com

Let me share mine.

Last month, I was forced to join the most highlighted contest in our municipality's tribal festival by representing our barangay. It was sudden nor out of the blue. The heaviness of my responsibility and the pressure than my friends who also joined different contests were extremely evident back then.

Well, such dilemma happened when the only day we can shoot an advocacy needed is Sunday. Given that our group has only started, we only borrowed tribal costumes for everyone which has to be returned on Monday. We were also running out of time then for we were told on the spot and we still have to climb the farthest mountain in our barangay in order to capture the most beautiful scenery and shoot there along with those representatives for tribal dance.

What challenged my moral values the most was that I was born and raised in a family who values Sunday a lot as it is God's day. Ever since I understood the true meaning of worship, I started not to skip going to church on Sundays. Thus, I was torn between going to church and shooting my advocacy. Going to church means giving up my responsibility and disappointing my group while shooting my advocacy means disappointing God and a scourge from Him will soon follow.

Saturday night, it is shameful that I was really having a hard time. My heart wanted to go to church because it is right and best. Yet, I also thought that was only for that day. I thought that there are still a lot of time for worship. Hence, I chose to consider shooting my advocacy that day with a heavy heart and nervousness about the consequence.

We spent that Sunday, tediously. My legs were trembling because of the distance and the difficulty of the way throughout the falls and mountains.

Despite those hardships we've encountered, we were happy because we did our best and we got what we wanted. However, our greatest downfall was that all the videos and pictures we hardly took were accidentally deleted. 'Twas like our day that time stopped for a moment. We were hopeless. Yet, someone had an idea. They have decided to fight through finding someone to sponsor costumes as hard as they can within a day and go back right away with another trial in the mountains even though they still haven't recovered from the fever they got. While me? I wasn't able to go with them because I had an extreme one.

some of us who led the way uphill

All of my hardships just to win the competition faded in the twinkling of an eye because I didn't put Him first which I already expected. The advocacy should ace in the competition, therefore, I didn't make make it to the top 5.

How do I feel about the experience now?

Thinking about it makes me ponder a Iot and realize the lessons I must never forget throughout my existence as a Christian. I was not a good example with the others. It is shameful for me to think about my decision as well because I chose something over Him. Yet, that dilemma has really taught me deeply.

Would I do it differently or would I still choose the same way?

Today, I would do it differently through a firmer faith. I knew in the first place that if I choose Him first and obey, I will never be last and blessings will follow. However, my faith was so small that He has His wonderful ways even in the most difficult situation, and my desire to go and witness the beautiful sceneries prevailed. His thoughts are not our thoughts. We must trust God the most when we don't know what to do anymore behind our feeble minds.

Share some of your thoughts. Comment below.

Thanks a ton!

9
$ 4.04
$ 3.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ling01
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 2
Sponsors of lonestranger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lonestranger
2 years ago

Comments

There is winning and losing in life, we must accept this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a dilemma you have @lonestranger. Anyways, i know you did your best for your advocacy but you know there are things that we have no control over. It's all about accepting your fate and just move forward. By the way, nice meeting you here. Welcome here on this amazing platform. <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree. Thank youu and nice meeting you here too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also impressed with the photos Sis, like I really felt the event. Matanong ko langga, anong phone gamit sa pag capture? :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oppo po pero idunno anong model kasi sa pinsan ko po yun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely my favorite part is seeing the images everything looks very cool

$ 0.01
2 years ago

woah really, thank youu

$ 0.00
2 years ago