Gardening Experiment: Compose in Pot?

2 23
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Hi everyone!

It has been a while since I last done a "One Less Junk on Earth" series! And today, I actually stumbled across something that I was searching from online, which is a proper compose bin;

and I came across this interesting permanent composing bin called "Worm towers" .

I was tempted to acquire one but realised that this is actually not cheap, while I have a lot of used yogurt bottles lying aside waiting for me to turn them into pots, so.. why not.... Turn them into mini Worm towers instead?

Hence this is the beginning of the journey of my experiment suing a used yogurt bottle, since I don't have that big of a pot, and I am also still saving aside my expenses for bills and medical needs for my parents.

Since I actually do not have a big drill I will need to start with a small drill and use a fat screw to make the holes bigger; but not too big, in case the overly acidic composing soil is sipping out, which I have encountered before hand and killed a lot of my vegetation.

Unlike the worm tower, I have decided to limit the holes to 2 holes that are facing the root, and 3 holes that are away from the root, hoping that this will somehow help the whole composing process and not damaging the root.

Since the chili plant after the chili harvest, spider mite attack and also excess heat, I have trimmed down the plant in hoping it will grow new leaves, while this becomes the perfect "experiment center" to see if compose nutrients will actually help the plant to have consistent natural fertilizer all the time.

Digging as deep as I can go without damaging the roots, I placed the "would be compose bottle" aside before closing it.

I noticed from the seller's video the compose bin actually is above ground, so this bottle is only buried 50% of its body. I also realised (as I am typing) that the cover of the compose bin actually has a meshed opening to have air to go in, so I will be drilling small holes on top to help the air regulation for composing.

Next would be putting the dried up vegetable cuttings from my terrarium and some peeled carrot skin from making juice for my mom in the morning into the bottle.

Will this work?

Honestly, I am not certain, but definitely is worth a try. If this actually work I might resort to 1/4 part of the other bigger 5L pots to have the used yogurt bottle as the compose bin; but at the moment, I am going to just observe and see if this is helping.

What do you think?

With minimum space garden would you think this compose idea is suitable cultivating good soil ecosystem?

Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Comments

Nice idea, please keep us updated so I can try it too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely. Fingers crossed!

$ 0.00
3 years ago