Exploring Zero Sugar Sunflower Seed Butter

4 24
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Diary, Recipe, Keto

Ah, nut butter...

They are good fat if we create it properly; but due to the fact there are just so many on the shelf butter mix with processed sugar, one must question how much sugar (as preservatives) added just to make sure it survive long enough for a patron to stop by and grab it to the cashier?

For my mom's case, due to the fact that she's still recovering from shingles and suddenly her body is starting to have an allergic reaction to peanut / any other bean paste; so instead of sourcing really expensive shelf ready butter, I decided to try on making organic sunflower seed butter, with zero sugar (but still has the sweetness)

This is perfect if I need to make keto nut butter as presents later, if I got it done correctly.

How to start?

I (eye ball) spread out the sunflower seeds on a 10 inch frying pan (x 2 rounds) to roast the sunflower seeds. They are spread out as evenly as possible with a teaspoon of vegetable oil (not peanut / palm oil) to have them lightly roasted.

Keep stirring them around at medium high heat until I started noticing the seeds are lightly golden and immediately I took them out and let them cool just a bit, but remaining warm before pouring them into the processor.

I used a basic (really old) multi purpose processor and start processing them at a low speed, making sure they are chopped.

Then I start to increase to the highest speed before I start to add around 2 table spoon of vegetable oil, spoon by spoon.


Each seed is different so it depends whether it is dryer / produces more oil. Depending on the texture, approximately 1 - 2 tablespoon is needed


Blending it at high speed does not need to be too long. I waited for about 2 minutes before I let the old machine cool a little, then I added this stevia sugar drops which is suppose to be zero calorie and keto friendly, and only 2 drops already produced enough mild sweetness to it.

Of course, if it is only plain sweet the butter will taste odd, my trusty sea salt that I acquired during MCO serves a taste balancer.

Just a twist / two on the butter, resume the process at high speed for another minute until as smooth will blend the salt well into the butter mixture.

Easy Peasy

All done!

Due to the fact that my magic bullet blender isn't working as well as before, this old multi-processor is unable to churn it as smooth as possible.

It's actually not too bad when mixed with jelly on the sandwich; but I think if its texture is smoother it would taste a lot better.

Which has gotten me curious if there is an affordable nut butter maker for small households; and lo and behold! I might look into this one when I have settled all my medical bill debts so that my parents could enjoy some nice homemade peanut butter a good few more years, which can be diabetic friendly since it is technically sugar free.

(including trying out almond , cashew, walnut butters too that is super expensive at the stores. This machine's price can only get 3 bottle of 250ml of alternative nut butters I might actually be tempted to secure as soon as I could afford for one)

3
$ 3.19
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Diary, Recipe, Keto

Comments

Honestly speaking we are eating with salt and having too much fun . But you have a nice day with this one Good afternoon to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salt at proper amount keeps our body from turning into under nourished; but too much sugar, it can be deadly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a professional maker 🥴 Tho you can brew wine as well😜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sunflower seed to brew into wine?? Oh this is something new

$ 0.00
2 years ago