Besides less junk, how about... from junk to glamour?

0 40
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Yep. You hear that right.

Up-cycling has been quite a trend for decades but usually they are in large scales; and for South East Asia there isn't many people who took time to really upscale (particularly small) stuffs into something - pretty and useful at the same time.

And I have started this since 2019.

You see, I actually started this hobbyist mini side hustle (mini because I am not super active) called craftsofluv (Crafts of Luv) since 2013 and it has been evolving for the last 7 years. I still haven't really got the time for mainstream business due to the fact that Malaysians are less likely to fancy this, but they are catching on during special occasions.

I usually do handmade greeting cards, and that itself deserves its own channel; however for pushing One Less Junk on Earth only started around end of 2018 (apart of trying out in mini gardening style) when I realised that my mom has been taking these cough drops for a really long time and each of the cough drops comes in a metal can.

And metal cans can ACTUALLY be recycled if done properly

So I started my journey occasionally sharing my up-cycling journey from my instagram account just to spur some interests, because what's the use of up-cycling them when there's no taker?

I mean, they aren't just one or two.

Though the labour often times really got me to almost give up, and during this journey I had a little helper to assist me during quality time too; but eventually these are just beginning work and it takes stages to stages till the final product.

From this...

To this!

I actually decided to reserve this for my mom....

There were a few times I placed up for sale in the online sites, but so far it is through friends' recommendations I get some of these beauties in the hands of a few.

I can't sell them overly cheap but they are at least 5 USD (excluding) for the paints and the time. Each of them takes about 4 hour to just design the surface, while paint drying and coating takes days.

Other times, like the one above, I give it out as gifts to my close friends. And most of the time they loved it.

I am still struggling to get it for guys because I think they might not need this; but if they do, most likely are plains. haha.

I actually might plan to make this as a habit to vlog my progress of designing each of the tiny containers because so far, I didn't repeat my designs, which is also part of my motto from Crafts of Luv to be at least the most unique gift that cannot be found exactly the same.

You can check out my instagram to see my past design to verify it

Unless it is bulk requests.

So what do you think?

Would you dig an up-cycle item like this as a gift for your love ones, to lessen at least one junk no matter how tiny it is, re-purposing its shelf life a little longer for the benefit of self or others?

And would you be curious to watch how long it takes to design something like this recorded along the way?

As part of supporting the costs for up-cycling ?

Let me know of your thoughts at the comments below! I'd love to hear (read) them!

13
$ 0.52
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @TheDINO
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Comments