Spoonie Life? I am.

0 42
Avatar for littleflowerselfexpression
3 years ago

Spoonie? What is heaven meaning of these words?

Before I share about myself being a Spoonie survivor and how my life is, I would like to explain Spoonie Theory. I guarantee it will be a bit boring since I introduce ideas, but it might be your extra knowledge if you are willing to learn more about human life.

As written by Henderson in 2017 who's listing 15 signs that confirm someone a spoonie explains a 'spoonie' is a term usually used for people with chronic illness. Christine Miseramdino introduced the Spoon Theory as she was alone facing and lives with lupus, a chronic autoimmune disease which causes an immune system to attack the body's healthy cells. Spoonie Theory introduced when her friends want to understand better the realities of living with a chronic illness. As she questions herself, "how do I explain every detail of every day being affected, and give the emotions a sick person goes through with clarity." She continues asking herself, "If I don't try to explain how it feels as a survivor, how could she expect for her friends to understand her."

I understand this situation as I am facing this too. And I'll add up one question, "How will they understand if I don't communicate about how it feels?" Yeah, it's not easy, especially if we are with ignorant people. I need assertiveness. But undeniable, it's hard to explain to people or even our family how it feels as a survivor of invisible illness.

Oh, wait, maybe numbing all feelings and composed some sad song? Self-sabotage? Heaven, no. That's not an option again anymore.

Miserandino's theory uses the spoon to explain many people's energy levels with a chronic illness limited. It depends on adverse environments, stress, sleeping patterns, foods, diet, pains, etc. Gibson (2013) creator of #SpoonieChat says that Spoon Theory helps people living with chronic illness communicate openly with people who care for them. She continues "I constantly use the concept of spoons to explain about my energy with family, friends and others."

Back to my story, I found the Spoonie Theory last weeks (3rd week of January 2021) while searching for articles to understand my conditions during that time. It's hard to explain to my family how I am feeling and my energy level. I usually say "I'm TIRED. Do not disturb me" or "I'm in Zompire mode right now, do not disturb me".

The moment I found the Spoonie Theory, I feel bright, and I got my 'Aha!' moments. I said determinedly, "I will use this theory for me to understand that I need rest and reject everything that drains my physical energy". Since then, I practice saying no to everything that makes me drains physically.

How is it?

It's WORKS.

Practising this theory in my daily life teaches me to precious my energy limits and do the things that only worth and necessary for my energy. It's not easy but it will worth it.

That's all about The Spoonie Theory. In my next article, I will share the story of my life as a survivor of Spoonie. But wait, to the people who love theory, I would like to hear your opinions about this theory. Looking forward for it.

Thank you for your time.

Little Flowers.

4
$ 0.56
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for littleflowerselfexpression
3 years ago

Comments