My Programming Journey!

7 51
Avatar for lilsoftx
3 years ago
var data = [{
     'name':'Destiny',
     'date':'2020-07-03',
     'username':'lilsoftx'
    }];

Good day all, I know some might see what I wrote above a weird or so but it's totally isn't.

I haven't really needed or had any reason to share my programming experience here on read.cash yet but after seeing a an article written by @Dangerous_Fly, on his programming journey and experience I felt the need to write this.

I dived into the world of programming when I was 16years old. Though I had eyes on it long before then but based on my country status, I didn't have such privilege at such an age. So I had to hold on to that dream and Passion until I was old enough and had the right resources to get started.

So just after my high schools days, my dad was able to afford a desktop computer which i started working with, initially I used it for playing video games and watching movies but I soon became bored and felt I wasn't doing anything productive with my life while I wait to get into the university. So I started searching on the net on how to create my own games of which I love playing back then.

After days of searching, I discovered I can't just start building games, I had to first understand the programming world by going back to the bare basics, which is HTML and CSS.

I then decide to go with it since it would lead me to where I wanted to be. I search on YouTube for tutorial on learning HTML and CSS, and the best I saw at the time was tutorials by Quentin watts, he was the one who got me started on my journey because his tutorials was so relative like he was talking to me in person.

I later completed my training on HTML and CSS to an intermediate level and I was able to clone some websites though initially it took a while to clone some websites like e-commerce websites, I had to toil for hours before actually figuring out the issues sometimes and when I finally get it, it's always worth it.

So I moved on to PHP skipping JavaScript, since I wanted to test out how forms are handle because it was so interesting to me after seeing some tutorials by Quentin watts. So I got on that train too and started learning it.

Along the line my desktop crashed beyond repair for reasons I can't explain. At the time I was so fraustrated because I felt I would never be able to catch up again knowing fully well my dad couldn't afford to buy me another pc, I was so sad for days, I decided to start visiting friends who I knew had a PC or brothers had a PC. Sometimes I was allowed access to their PC other times I wasn't. I noticed it still wasn't working out because the learning process was so slow, I learnt only twice a week or three times in two weeks.

It then dawned on me that I would soon lose what I have passion for because of faustration, so I told my mom I would like to work and save money to get my own PC, and she agreed. She spoke to her friend who was a principal and she asked me to come with my WAEC result, jamb result and CV of which I did. I was given some problems to solve and I breeze through them.. she was really impressed and took me to teach basic 6 students which was the highest position available in the school as at then. She said since I was so good in maths she wanted me to teach her student because they where not so strong at it yet and they have their common entrance exams coming soon. So I took the job and started teaching basic 6.

This article is getting really long. I know how tiring it can be to read something that's really long even if it's interesting. So I would stop here for now and continue on my next article - look forward to that;

Thanks for reading

9
$ 1.52
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Koush
Avatar for lilsoftx
3 years ago

Comments

Hello can we continue?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haven't seen you there yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm.really interesting and inspiring.i love the fact that you didn't give up on your vision and goal despite all the obstacles and barriers..I also have a similar story on my own journey to become a fashion designer.but seeing yours just gave me lots of inspiration and motivation thanks allot for this Article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please submit your programming and coding articles to this community for more visibility! make use of the community feature! thanks https://read.cash/c/development-and-coding-af43

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok thanks, would do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

please then post the link of continuation! good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago