swallowing bitter pills

7 42
Avatar for lerkfrend
2 years ago
Topics: Get Over It, Be Here

I've been gone for entirely too long.

Rather, I've stayed away for too long.

Rather, I've been avoiding this place.

Ah, why must I be so coy? Well, mostly to get this next bit out of the article preview. Is this enough preamble? Seems like it.

So why have I been avoiding read.cash? I think Marc De Mesel is a creep and I needed to overcome some of those feeling before returning.

It's strange, I barely interact with him, barely overlap with his world, his feelings, his opinions. Yeah, I used to subscribe to his noise.cash account, in hopes of chat about BCH or crypto projects he's following or other potentially meaning market insights.

But I forgot that people are always larger than their jobs, their interests, their various platform personas. It took some time before I gained a better picture, and when I did, I really didn't like what I saw.

I won't go into it now. I'm sure many of you know what the sorts of things I'm talking about and you all certainly have your own opinions on the matter. This isn't about that.

I'm not even exactly certain why I feel the need to mention this at all. I could slide back in, start tipping and writing again, as if I didn't feel distinctly different about using this site, but I do. I felt a little...dirty? That's not it, exactly. It felt like interacting with this site was a tacit endorsement of certain people's creepiness.

Weirdly, noise.cash feels no different. Maybe I always felt more comfortable there, less inhibited. Maybe it's easier to tune out the bullshit there, or to avoid posts with $1000 upvotes from You Know Who....

I'm rambling now.

I'm treating this post like my high school LiveJournal account (which still exists in a weirdly edited time-capsule-ish form, if there are any intrepid users that want to go on a wild goose chase with zero payoff).

So enough of all that, I'm choosing happy.

I'm choosing emojis in appropriate doses 😅✌️

I'm choosing Bitcoin Cash.

I'm choosing writing, tipping, and exchanging interesting ideas.

I'm choosing frends.

Mostly, I'm choosing engagement with the good I see, with the potentials of BCH and y'all great people. Happy to be back!

I don't have any plans for upcoming articles but I'm sure I can slap a pile of words together in a pleasing enough fashion at some point in the near future, so stay tuned?

Lead photo by Ksenia Yakovleva on Unsplash.

Happy pill photo by lilartsy on Unsplash.

7
$ 7.35
$ 6.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Avatar for lerkfrend
2 years ago
Topics: Get Over It, Be Here

Comments

I know exactly what you mean and I also decided not to interact with that person at all. Can't read his noise feed without getting angry. So I let it be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever it is, so glad you came back to read.cash!!!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

good to be back, wicked one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a joy to read you again my dear friend. I am so sorry to read all this that you have written. You will have your reasons. But what pleases me is that soon you will come and continue to share with us. I hope to read your next post soon. Thank you for your support always and for me you are always welcome.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

thank you for your kind words. i'm glad to be back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back my good friend, happy to see here again. And more so, happy that you have overcome the feeling that you have in the past which was responsible for pulling out of here. Welcome back friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

thank you. i look forward to more discussions with you, frend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago