my BCH mindset: goals and commitments

19 73
Avatar for lerkfrend
3 years ago

It's been whirlwind three weeks for me. BCH and noise.cash and read.cash have been rather transformative. I have too much free time while I'm on leave, but I seem to spend most of my day looking at crypto charts, reading about BCH developments, and tipping all you lovely people.

Shortly after I received my first upvote from Rusty, the Random Rewarder, I made a post on noise.cash:

Idealism at its finest....

At the time, I didn't really know what to expect from my earnings. I had made less than $1. Rusty has visited me a few times since and I want to remain true to my commitment. To that end, I would like to open up my read.cash finances for a bit of scrutiny.

This is my read.cash wallet, and this is a wallet I created last night when Rusty went on a tipping spree, as I did not want to hold too much in my read.cash wallet.

Now I'm not going to go crazy with the accounting. This is an informal commitment on my part, and I mean to stick by it, but I was not expecting to make more than $5 on any particular article.

I no longer think I can reinvest 100% of my earnings. I'd like to do what I've been doing on noise.cash: distribute 75%, keep 25% for myself. Again, this is an informal commitment and I'm not going to count out my satoshis like some miserly old Scrooge. Many things may change, but the core remains the same:

I want to make a habit of engaging and including others on this platform. I want to foster the exchange of opinions and ideas by encouraging others to write and share.

I'm not going to hold myself to any tipping standards or reading requirements. I'm doing this because it's fun and rewarding and I don't want to make it a job. If I earn from my writing then so much the better but this platform is bigger than me.

I'm here for the people.

I want to embody some crypto organizing principles and lead by my example. I am not looking for followers, but I want my actions to be a statement of my faith in this project. The more time I spend here the more I feel that I need to be here for the long-haul, that I can engage my talents here to make a difference.

but wait, there's more commitment!

I posted this to noise.cash five days ago:

Ricky F got me all fired up!

I've since done some follow up. The majority of merchants accepting BCH in my city are restaurants that use Menufy. This is all well and good but I'm not looking to onboard people to Menufy and have no need for the service.

There are three non-restaurant businesses that are listed as accepting BCH. Two of them are individual guys that are into Bitcoin that accept BCH as payment because it has Bitcoin in the name. The other is a Kratom retailer that seems to only accept BTC, and their website recommends their clients buy it on Coinbase using a credit card, while also saying that BTC allows users to transact anonymously. They then ask you to register an account on their site before you can make purchases. Not very reassuring.

I'm not particularly discouraged, though. I knew it would be an uphill battle to raise crypto awareness and this is as much about my growth as it is about BCH's. I am going to have to overcome some social anxiety hurdles to go out and start talking to people.

I've started with my mother-in-law, who has been vaguely interested in Bitcoin for a few years now. We've only had a couple conversations where I've outlined some Bitcoin basics, and she's left them a bit confused but I don't think that was entirely my fault. It's hard to communicate these complex ideas to people with very little frame of reference.

I have been studying a lot of merchant on-boarding resources and I'm trying to develop my approach. I'm reminded of the many Roger Ver debates I've watched recently, where he seems to have every phrase ready and practiced, where he even knows the opposing side's argument and is always ready to counter. I'm not there yet. I'm not comfortable with BCH in that way, but I'm not going to let that discourage me. You've got to start somewhere.

Bringing the world a sound, revolutionary currency is worth the effort.

Thanks for reading. Comment below if you have any thoughts for me, I'd really love the feedback!

Lead photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

17
$ 13.97
$ 13.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @cesar.cantante404
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 2
Avatar for lerkfrend
3 years ago

Comments

Wow now bitcoincash higt price

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw your name on the tippers and visited your account heheπŸ™ˆ It's good to hear that there's some people in your city that accepting bitcoincash, in my country I think it is rare.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

yes, i suppose it's better than nothing. we have to start somewhere.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its great to read someones thought committed to help. Thank you.

Id also wanna thank you for the upvote with my comment in noise.cash. appreciate it 😊

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thanks for the tips πŸ˜‰

$ 0.01
3 years ago

you're welcome! that was a great article and you're doing a lot for this community!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow Now you are very blessed with little bot always upvoting your Article, because you are a good person. And you deserve a of it. Blessings will come your way for your good deeds. πŸ˜‡ Thank you for the support πŸ˜‡πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i don't know exactly why it liked me so much, but i will accept it, hehehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a blessing πŸ˜‡πŸ’š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree with you, the biggest issues BCH needs to face is adoption, the good thing is, we as community can contribute to it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts <3

$ 0.05
3 years ago

maybe if i upvote your comment it will help you get unflagged. i'm sorry this is happening.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you for that, i really apreciate it ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Read.Cash and Noise.Cash are both amazing platforms that give us the opportunity to express ourselves and earn at the same time. Thank you and keep on posting.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

thank you so much. i do plan on posting a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must be the change that we want to see in the world - Gandhi. As for me, I am just trying to keep myself informed on crypto in general because I cannot convince other people if I am not convinced myself about prospects of blockchain technology. And another way is writing about blockchain. I have plans of translating my blogs in Filipino but writing about technology in our national language is time consuming.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

great points. i find that writing is the best way for me to improve my thinking and solidify my understanding. thanks for your support!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love what you said " I am not here for people."

$ 0.01
3 years ago

it's the truth! i wouldn't be spending most of my days on these sites if the people weren't awesome. you included!

$ 0.00
3 years ago