Reminiscing:A Christmas Dance Contest

1 27
Avatar for leejhen
3 years ago
Topics: Christmas, Story, Writing

Never thought that it is already two years since I participated A Christmas Dance Contest in my youngest daughter's school.

The moment I open my FB, memories from two years ago greet my news feed.

My daughter is a nursery back then, now she is in grade one. Days passed by so fast that we didn't notice that our children are slowly growing up and we are already old haha.

Well the Contest is unexpected. The teacher just announced it that in the coming Christmas Party there will be a Christmas Dance Contest and every parents available must participate.

From Morning Session to Afternoon Session there will be a contestant and it should be voluntary.

We belong to afternoon session. There is no other active parents in our session except us. So we decided to join the 9 of us.

We choose to Dance the "Baam"Christmas Medley. As momoland is very popular during that time.

Everyday after the end of the school. We practiced. Good thing one of the moms knows very well how to Dance and she became our choreographer.

The first practice make my body ache. I'm old haha. No it's not like that. It's just that it's been too long since I didn't Dance the real one like practicing in a contest. I'm a Dancer too when I was young.

But you know as we're getting old our body is getting weak too and lazy haha.

We buy and make our props and costumes. We also wear a santa hat. I must say our outfit was not too bad.

The Day of the Party Finally came. I'm very nervous at that time. Because it's been decade since I dance in front of many people.

Actually all of the moms are very nervous. But we calm ourselves and focus on the Party. As there is a price too for those who will win plus 10 kilos of rice each.

They are my co dancers. The Beautiful moms of our session.

We braid our hair and put a red lipstick so that when we felt nervous our pale lips will not be very visible hehe.

Our group was finally called. The moment I stand up in the stage. My legs became weak and sweat fell down from my face.

My Gosh! I'm so very nervous! How can I dance with a cold feet shaking.

So I take a deep breath. Inhale, Exhale, To calm my self and it really helped.

The moment the music started. I move and dance to the beat and not nervous at all.

People are shouting! especially the moms on our session supporting us for added audience impact.

And we ended our dance with a bang! Finally we did it! We are proud of our self.

The moment of Truth came. It's time to announce the winners!!!

Drum roll........

And we win.....

2nd place!!!!!

It's already an achievement of us eventhough we did not win the 1st prize.

Still we win!!! And we are very happy.

The Price was one thousand pesos and 10 kilos of rice each parent. Not so bad.

We divided the price, so we got 100 plus pesos each. The party ended and we went home with a smile on our face.

This dance contest happened once in a lifetime and I'm so glad that I joined.

A memory to treasure and share with. I will never forget this party in my entire life.

And at the end of the school year we are awarded a certificate of appreciation for being a Supportive and Cooperative Parent.

It really surprised us! We are very happy to stand up in the stage and recieved our certificate.

I will never forget that once in my life I participated and win the Christmas Dance Contest in School.

leejhen ❤️

Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Grammarian
Sponsors of leejhen
empty
empty
Avatar for leejhen
3 years ago
Topics: Christmas, Story, Writing

Comments

I liked your post. All their outfits are beautiful. And the best thing is the award they won for the collaboration. Your memories are beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago