Light Revealing My Genuine Feathers

4 55
Avatar for lagrapefruit
3 years ago

All colors depend on light.

The other day I was working on the computer, when all of a sudden, smothered was my laser focused concentration when my excited kindergartener waved a bird's feather in front of my eyes, enunciating, 'Look mammi. It's beauuuuu-ti-fulllll.'

Having been deeply concentrated in my work and thought process, it took me 5 unfading seconds to pull out of that fine absorption I was in.

It took me a while to snap out because I was remembering that nine times out of ten, when kindergarteners want your attention it's usually not for anything absolutely earth shattering. Being that, kids are new around here and what's shockingly new to them is just plain and ordinary for us adults.

Yet, this time, to my surprise, THIS TIME, my little girl's excitement correlated the value of her newly found treasure. What she found was actually something interesting to look at from an adult's perspective.

A beautiful parakeet's feather. Which shifted from semi dull grayscale to a vibrantly yellowish-teal as the light hit it just right.

Which kindly reminded me of how I used to see the world, I used to see it as black and white. Lots of things to me seemed to be either this or that. You're either with me or you're against me type of deal.

For example when I was young, even though I am a girl, I had a distaste for flowered dresses and baby dolls. If I ever saw any girl using either, I regarded them as irrational and somehow inherently bad.

With flowered dresses I thought that it was so vain to wear fake flowers. It seemed to me as a desperate attempt to get attention (πŸ˜…πŸ€¦πŸ½β€β™€οΈ). But now I realize that fake flowers on a dress are alright and certainly NOT 100% a bad thing.

With the baby dolls, I thought, "Why would anyone like to play with a fake baby if you can interact with real humans?" I would even look down upon other little girls my age who would play with dolls and dismiss them as childish.

Now as an adult with daughters of my own, I realize that baby dolls are kinda useful πŸ˜„πŸ˜„. It's just not practical to let a toddler play with a real baby!

Of course, now I realize my childish foolishness. 😊😊😊. Certainly it is not necessarily bad to wear fake flowered dresses, and it is NOT always equivalent to being vain and flirtatious.

See, many things are subjective. That's to say, you can have your own opinion about it and that's okay. For example having a favorite color is subjective.

On the other hand, when something is objective, that's when there's only one true answer. For example facts are objective.

Some things are not black and white and it's okay to take a stand.

As my young kids are starting to understand more and more everyday. I would like to illustrate to them the difference between 'Objective' and 'Subjective'.

What is fact and what is opinion.

It seems simple but as adults, we tend to think our opinions are absolutes and we risk sabotaging good friendships due to our unwillingness to understand that opinions are questionable. It's okay to question opinions.

That's why I find debates to be a healthy way to prove your reasoning and I wish more people would make the distinction between fact and opinion.

Some things are not definite and no human in this era is pure light nor complete darkness.

Thus, when we let light hit us, that is, when by God's grace we let virtues and facts guide us, just like that parakeet feather, we turn into a more attractive version of ourself.

Hence, may your feathers ever be so saturated with light!

Best Regards!
@lagrapefruit

Join me on LBRY!

It's a decentralized video, audio and PDFs crypto platform, follow me there and you'll also get some free crypto.

https://odysee.com/$/invite/@LaGrapefruit:3

6
$ 3.69
$ 3.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.03 from @Purebeauty
Sponsors of lagrapefruit
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for lagrapefruit
3 years ago

Comments

That was wonderful! I remember myself when I was a kid, I always play with barbie dolls since I can't go out and play with the other kids. And with the flowers, I love flowersssss I always woke up and watch them bloom in the morningπŸ˜³πŸ’šπŸ€­πŸŒΌπŸŒΌπŸŒΌπŸŒΏπŸ€πŸ€πŸŒ±πŸŒ±

$ 0.02
3 years ago

hahahaha that's great that you liked flowers! I don't know why as a kid I had such a weird relationship with flowers. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I was doing a disservice to myself. Lol.

It wasn't until I had my daughter that I began to appreciate the color pink and flowers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even tho I can't see your daughter, but I can say that she is so cuteeee the way you describe her in your article uwuuuu 😍😍😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww thank you. She's really sweet and funny. Sometimes I wish I was her haha 😍

But then I remember I'm not and that's okay. Gardens are full of different flowers and it's ok to be one of a kind.

$ 0.02
3 years ago