Goodbye

29 48
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago

"You've got to be kidding me. You're really planning to send me to Masbate? for what? a vacation?" I exclaimed questioning my dad's decision of throwing me away to that ugly and boring place.

"Yes son, me and your mom will be very busy so you'll have stay at grandma's." dad explained.

"Daaad! I'm fine here, okay? and sending there would never ever feel like a vacation, its like a punishment or a prison or worse!"

"Look, your grandmother will be there for you so you won't have to worry, and you're already sixteen its time for you to learn to become more independent"

"wait, whut? so this is really a form of discipline for me? Wow, you're unbelievable" I just can't accept that they're really sending me to that remote area for like three months? "Arghhh"I was so pissed that I ran towards my room to calm myself.

"You don't have enough time so better pack up" dad shouted.

After six hours of travel, I finally arrived at my granny's place. The only word to describe the place is B-O-R-I-N-G.

Granny is very welcoming but I hate to socialize with oldies yeah right judge me if you want, I still hate my dad for doing me this to me.

As I look around the house, almost every corner have a sculpture of saints, bible and stuff that looks very antique. The vibe of this house only says one thing, my vacation will be very boring.

A week has passed and as expected, I did nothing but play my phone and scroll on my social media accounts. Well, thankfully the signal works just fine.

One afternoon, I decided to walk around and didn't noticed that I was entering the woods. I was really mesmerized by the scenery. Wow. The place is very refreshing and relaxing. I was feeling the moment and didn't realize that I have had closed my eyes until I heard some noise. I was sure that I was alone, but then I saw a girl watching me and when I caught her eyes she tried to ran away.

But no, I ran towards her to catch up. The week has been very boring so I'd grab this opportunity to talk to someone with the same age as mine.

"Uhm hi? I'm Tristan" I confidently introduced myself and extended my hand.

She looked at me with a confused face and then to my hands. "ow, yeah I am just having a vacation here, uhh more likely a punishment though I am from Albay, Nice meeting you" I smiled and hoping that she'd talk to me.

"H-hi" She said.

Aw man, her voice is beautiful. I didn't noticed that she has a very captivating eyes.

"Uhm, may I ask where do you live and why are you here?" I asked her 'coz I'm somehow still flustered to see someone else here after a week.

"Oh, I am just curious since I can't see any house near ours, I mean granny's" I added. I don't want her to think of anything misleading.

"Uhm, just near here."

I just nodded since I don't know if she's comfortable of even having a conversation with me.

"I usually come here to relax and play at our tree house" She explained.

"Oh wow, you have a tree house here? that's cool, this place is actually refreshing" I told her with my delighted expression.

"Do you want to go there?" She asked and flashed a smile.

Dude, I'm speechless. Her smile made her more attractive.

"Tristan?" she called.

Oh crap, I wasn't able to reply.

"Aw yeah sure, I'd love to, how far is it from here?"

We walked for like five minutes until we reached the tree house. The view is really amazing and the tree house was huge and has a very good structure. I can't help but ask who built it.

"This was built by my father, but they no longer come here anymore, just me"

I don't know how to reply but she added

"by the way, I am Crista and please don't tell others that I'm still visiting the place?"

"Oh sure, you don't have to worry, I also have no friends here to talk to and me & granny don't usually get along so yeah, rest assured your secret is safe with me"

"Thank you" she said.

We talked, walked and bonded together for hours but I had to say goodbye since its already getting late. We agreed to meet again on the same time and place.

Finally something make sense in my stay in Masbate. I was really happy for the next couple of weeks. I discovered and learned a lot from Crista. She's very humorous. But the only that made me curious is that she's never let me hold her. I mean am I not that appealing or do I look dirty to her?

I just shrugged that idea and sleep happily.

It's been a month and two weeks since I stayed here at my granny's. I'm glad that grandma doesn't ask much about my whereabouts and she also knows that I hate being asked.

As I meet Crista on the tree house again, she's just as jolly as always.

My inner self is protesting every time I think of going back to my hometown.

"Uhm Tristan, I know you'll be leaving soon and I know that when that time comes you might be confused and sad or maybe angry- but please don't forget about me, let me live even just in your memories."

And that's it, I got more sad just to think that I'm leaving her. For the first time in my life I found someone who understands and listens to me.

"You will be remembered" I assured her and gave her a smile.

We continued the day sharing laughter together and I didn't realize that a tear drop just by the sight of her smiling to me.

Sure I'll be missing you Crista.

The next morning was very unexpected, I woke up with the noise of someone talking loudly. I was shocked that my mom and dad was here. TO PICK ME UP.

I don't know how to react.

"Hey honey are you surprised?" My mom is smiling to me very widely like as if she just gave me a very beautiful gift of all time.

"What are you doing here?" I asked. I'm confused and really flustered by their arrival.

"We're picking you up son" My dad explained.

Wait what? I can't leave yet. I don't want to leave yet.

"Wait, Dad why so soon? I thought I'll be staying here for three months?"

"Well, Tristan son, we'll be going out of the country as our gift to you, everything is set so all you have to is pack up your things and we're good to go" My mom said happily.

I want to protest but I don't want to put their efforts be put on a waste. That's what Crista taught me. I have to appreciate my parents actions and decisions for me.

"o-okay, I'll pack up" I sighed heavily and went to my room.

As I put my things in my back pack, I realize something after grabbing my phone. "Oh boy, I didn't even have any selfie with Crista" I think I'll stop by the woods first before leaving.

As I went down, I dropped my bag and was about to go into the woods to bid my goodbye to Crista when my grandma asked me where am I off to. Mom and Dad also looked at me like they need some explaination.

"oh right, I just want to say good bye to my friend Crista" I said and grab on the door knob when my grandma suddenly dropped her cup of tea.

"Did you say Cr-crista?" My grandma asked in a shaky voice

"yeah, Crista do you know her? She has a tree house here, like a 10 minutes walk from here"

"Tristan, Crista is my adopted child."

"She died along time ago"

I can't breathe. I don't know how to process what my granny said.

NO! It can't be true.

"you're kidding right?" Its no time to joke these kind of stuff but granny didn't reply and cried.

*gulp*

I ran towards the woods. This can't be true.

Is this the reason why she won't let me touch her?

Is this the reason why she won't let me talk about her to others?

Is this the reason why she only wears the some clothed as always?

My tears are flowing but I won't believe it until she confirms it.

As I reach the tree house, I saw her from behind. Calm and beautiful as always.

I was panting heavily and couldn't let out a single word when she suddenly faced me and said

"I guess the time has come, I told you you'll be confused and sad or maybe angry- but please don't forget about me, let me live even just in your memories"

and that's it. My tears just flow like a river. I ran towards her and gave her a hug.

A hug that could only be sent when I go to the afterlife.

"Tristan, we'll have to part ways, at least now I have someone who'll remember me"

I can't say anything. I'm so stupid for not noticing it. I kept ranting about how my life sucks but she only talked about the beauty and joy of life.

"Goodbye Tristan"

simpleledger:qp6wk7rcfgjt5tqnfut9ru3g8t3lasg0qgggwtf4f3


Is this a love story or a spooky story? 'cause I'm also confused.

11
$ 1.74
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @sjbuendia
$ 0.01 from @Foogi
Sponsors of ladyhanabi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article 👌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hakuna Matata

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It didn't come off as spooky to me. Just sad. Very very sad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeaaah I didn't realize it until its done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there's still a few more days until the spooks judgement day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I'm thinking of submitting another entry. If I won't be very busy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I nearly forgotten tbh had I not read your article 😂😂 but i don't have horror inspiration right now. The rain is making me dumb

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then maybe you could write something sad? I saw some activity in one community where this weeks challenge is to write anything sad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was going to do that later on in the day but i still want to write something about horror this week. I like the variations in my writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great then. I'm looking forward for your spooky article 👻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The sad one will come out first so maybe you could check that out first 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Suree

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love you, good bye? Parang ganon? Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha you could say that waah its supposed to be a spooky story but I ended up writing a love story? Asdfghhh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha hmm what do u think? Is it spooky?😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nooo Hahaha it was just a sad story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

geez... sabi q na nga b at ghosting xa eh.. 😁as you read further,it gets more exciting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waah thanks sa support. I was worried na masyado na mahaba ang article kaya bigla kong niwrap up yung story ughh. Thanks for appreciating it tho 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heto ang mga sulat na worth it basahin. Ang sakit ng ending boss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Horror dapat yan kaso naging sad story hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Astig pa din yung plot ng kwento. Nalaman kong multo si Crista eh kay Granny haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool hahaha keep reading

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I will haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago