Potato Onion Cheesy Dish

4 29
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

During the past year, I have gotten pretty creative in the kitchen. From hours of watching “Chopped”, I’ve learned that you can make something out of what’s on hand in the kitchen. Cooking has been pretty rewarding, as I never knew I had it in me to feed myself from simple staples in the kitchen. 

One of my favorite cooking tools is a cast iron skillet. I wish I had been exposed to these when I came out the womb because it is the best! It makes everything crispy and is a solid piece of cookware that will most likely never need to be replaced. With that said, the dish I present to you was cooked in a mini cast iron skillet. It’s actually the same one that I take with me while camping. On my last camping trip my friend saw it and said, “Cute!” It is pretty cute only being about 8” wide. But for my purposes, it definitely does the trick. 

A few things that I keep in the kitchen at all times are potatoes, onions and cheese. I love them all but especially cheese. I know the vegans out there can’t partake but I’ve experimented with vegan cheese and it is actually well made into a product resembling the real deal. The plant-based cheese didn’t give me the best melt effect, but that was okay. 

On a whim one night, it got late and I knew I had to feed myself and was feeling too lazy to leave the house. So I took to my pantry and pretended I was on an episode of “Chopped”. Lo and behold, the Potato Onion Cheesy Dish (sorry, my creative juices are out and I couldn’t come up with a better name, maybe POC snack???) Here’s my recipe, hope you have a go at it and enjoy it as well!

Ingredients:

  • Sliced Potatoes (1 at minimum)

  • 1/2 - 1 Onion - cut up and caramelized

  • Handful of Cheese 

*optional minced or cut up garlic for flavor

** these measurements are for the small cast iron skillet I use

**if you don’t have a cast iron skillet, any baking dish will do


Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

  • I let my potato slices soak in water to remove starch

  • Layer potatoes, onion, garlic and cheese in the cast iron skillet

  • Put in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until cheese has melted and browned. 


For toppings, I’ll use ketchup. But sometimes the dish is so tasty that I don’t even bother with ketchup. Feel free to use other ingredients to spice up your dish. 

Now it’s time to eat & enjoy!

3
$ 0.30
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
Sponsors of ladyanneclare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

Comments

This looks so delicious. I'll try it as well. Cooking is fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was totally delicious to eat :-D! I totally agree, cooking is fun and I’m always experimenting and excited to figure out new things. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im also a cook here on our house,I can cook different viands but when it comes to staples, I didn't knew much of it specifically the speciality of yours. It's new to my eyes, I think it was delicious, can I take some??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😆 yes of course, please take some! It was indeed delicious, I’ll definitely be making it again. That’s cool that you cook too, I’d love to know what kinds of dishes you make.

$ 0.00
2 years ago