I Am a Published Author!

8 47
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

I got the great news last month that I am now an officially published author! It was absolutely thrilling to receive this news. It has been one of my life’s goals to one day be published and now I am. I submitted the piece last December and thought that it was really well done and hoping that I would receive good news. Months past and I hadn’t heard anything and thought, well let this be a lesson to just keep going and work on my craft. But lo and behold, I received an email congratulating me on news that my piece had been accepted! I just knew that it was an exceptional piece of writing that I was happy about and thought it should stand out and the panel that judged my piece agreed. 

The publisher, Wingless Dreamer, usually charges for submissions, as do most writing opportunities these days, but this one was free. Knowing that there was no charge to this contest, I knew that the odds may be stacked higher than their other categories. Due to that, I feel absolutely honored due to this circumstance. 

When I came upon the post on their website, I knew I just needed to submit. This particular book is a travel anthology which received submissions in a contest like format. Traveling is a great passion of mine and I have had the privilege of visiting many places and have created life long memories and made many friends around the world. The memories I have are priceless and have given me much joy so writing about them is really an effortless task because they mean so much to me.  The story that is in this book is one that I mostly receive open mouths and responses such “No way?!” It was just one of those magical trips where things just came together and left a huge impression on me and stayed about thirteen years later.

What’s even more thrilling is that when the book was published, I found out that I was not the top winner of the anthology but a finalist. So there is a special ribbon icon next to my name. There are 48 writers that were chosen and I made it to the top of the rest. 

Good news like this has been a great motivator for me to continue on and keep writing. I never thought that maybe someone would want my words to be published and on sale in Amazon. 


If anyone is interested in becoming a published author, I encourage you to check out Wingless Dreamer. They are geared towards beginning writers and have these opportunities to encourage writers to continue on in their journey. You might just join me in the published by Wingless Dreamer club. 

If you interested in the travel anthology I have been published in, it’s called “The Wanderlust Within” and available on Amazon, click here. It’s comprised of true travelogues from all over the world. My story is titled “Anne & Gilbert.” 

**A quick word on the links posted here - I am not earning any referral bonuses, royalties or any other financial compensation. I am just sharing my joy and have earned bragging rights to do so :-). 

I hope to inform you of some more good news in the months to come but for now I am still relishing in this win. If you are interested in becoming published, drop a comment below and let’s start a dialogue in making this happen for you. 

***Also I want to thank my sponsors @scottcbusiness and @wakeuplincs ***

 



3
$ 0.70
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.14 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of ladyanneclare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

Comments

Oh congratulations! Looks like the winners in that category are all in the US. Hehe. Maybe I will check if there's any contest open to international writers... 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much @LucyStephanie!! Interesting I didn’t make note of all the author’s origins, the publisher is out of the UK so I thought they had more of a UK community. You should definitely apply to any of the contests. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a restriction on country of residence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to you. Thank you for sharing the website.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks @heartbeat1515! It’s been a thrill to have this honor. You’re welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen the website and there is a new poetry contest going on. Need to wait for a new free contest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yippee!!! Congrats to you!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much! It’s been an interesting ride and happy to share the good news 😊.

$ 0.00
2 years ago