Epic Genre - a god and a dictionary

2 30
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

*this prompt was generated by thestoryshack.com

“It is required of you,” said the booming voice from high above, the sunlight was blinding my view of the source.

“You are to go back to Mount of the Blossoms and retrieve the dictionary that is required for our people,” finished the booming voice.

At this, I bowed my head in reverence, lowering into paused curtsy to honor the god that ruled our kingdom.

“Thank you my lord, I shall fulfill your will,” I replied as I stood straight and turned toward the exit of the temple.

It was bright, sunny and humid that day and I was glad for my shorter dress to aid in overheating. I just exited the temple of our god, Ganigatress. While too large to inhabit the temple itself, he would hover in the atrium portion, where the atrium was open-air and he would be in the open air space. Some say he was standing but some say that no god will be allowed to have his feet touch the ground and he was floating. These matters were trivial to me. My only goal was to make sure that I obeyed the law and saw through the missions entrusted to me.

I am Lenatra. The last female warrior in my lineage, who have been sworn to protect the people that Ganigatress is lord over. It has been my duty to fight the forces that threaten our well-being, lord and protect from any evil.

On occasion, such as this, I am directed to travel to dangerous zones to collect valuable items for our people. Some times it has been food, medicine, tools and a goat. For this quest, I am to travel to the next town and up their sacred mountain to bring back what is known as a dictionary for our people. Our shaman has told me this special book is what will help our people be civilized and aid their communication in all matters. It was with the utmost importance this dictionary be brought back and made available to our elder statesman to then make available to our people.

It has become so important, Ganigatress has called me forth to carry this out. Initially I did not understand and went to seek it out and was thwarted by the local townspeople from entering the cave where it was kept. I have not had 100% successful missions, so rather than create a potential rift with our neighbors, I decided to walk away. I make it sound very simple but it wasn’t just walking away, I had to run and hide for my life.

When I went to the mountain, there was a unit of soldiers on guard to the path entrance. While greeting them and discussing briefly my business there, they forbade me to travel further.

“Forgive me,” I told them, “I have been ordered by our lord to retrieve this item that is in the cave, will you not let me pass?”

”Nigh,” replied the soldier, stone-faced and worn from the constant sun on his face. “No one passes unless they have been approved by our queen, or…”

”Or what?” I asked.

“Or if they win us in battle,” he said with a chuckle and glance towards the other soldiers.

”I will not draw my sword just to pass you,” I replied.

3
$ 2.67
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ladyanneclare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyanneclare
2 years ago

Comments

Nice story. Weldone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks QueenRay, appreciate you reading it. Just needed a few minutes more….

$ 0.00
2 years ago